Video output shifts then resolume crashes

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
garretthen
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 22:03

Video output shifts then resolume crashes

Post by garretthen » Mon Nov 11, 2019 01:12

Hi, we had an issue recently where our main output, once activated, would shift to the right, approximately 50cm on a 10 metre LED screen.
Nothing we did would rectify this and eventually resolume would crash.
We had this problem previously and matching all refresh rates on graphics card, input sources and processors seemed to resolve it.

PC is Asrock motherboard, Nvidia gtx 1080i, datapath visionsc hd4 and sd4 capture cards.
Resolume Avenue 7
Windows 10

Help!!!!!

garretthen
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 22:03

Re: Video output shifts then resolume crashes

Post by garretthen » Mon Nov 11, 2019 13:37

Anybody???

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3832
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Video output shifts then resolume crashes

Post by Zoltán » Mon Nov 11, 2019 13:48

Could you describe your setup, and how you send the outputs?

Were you able to send us the crash report with the reporter dialog?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

garretthen
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 22:03

Re: Video output shifts then resolume crashes

Post by garretthen » Mon Nov 11, 2019 15:07

Zoltán wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 13:48
Could you describe your setup, and how you send the outputs?

Were you able to send us the crash report with the reporter dialog?
Hi, thanks for the reply.
Hardware as described in the first post.
We then send video over Cat5 using a Hall research hdmi over Cat5 transmitter and receiver kit.
This goes to a Novastar mctrl660 processor to control the LED screen.

We used the server the previous day and realised it had performed a Windows update accidentally.
It slowed almost to a stop and a restart resolved this.
It then ran perfectly for the event.

Thanks

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3832
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Video output shifts then resolume crashes

Post by Zoltán » Mon Nov 11, 2019 16:07

where our main output, once activated, would shift to the right,
Compared to what?

Can you hook up a HDMI monitor instead of the extender and check if you see the shift on that too?
If not, then it's introduced once the signal left the machine.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

garretthen
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 22:03

Re: Video output shifts then resolume crashes

Post by garretthen » Mon Nov 11, 2019 17:42

This happened before when we had a straight hdmi cable from pc to processor so I know it's not that.

Where do I find the crash report?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3832
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Video output shifts then resolume crashes

Post by Zoltán » Mon Nov 11, 2019 18:16

garretthen wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 17:42
This happened before when we had a straight hdmi cable from pc to processor so I know it's not that.
The crash or the shift?

Could be also the processor doing something weird, like re-syncing to cut off the black borders, so can you try it with a monitor connected directly?

The crash report is assembled by the reporter app. If you din't send it you might be able to find it as a zip in C:\Users\YourUser\AppData\Local\Temp

Can you send us a recording of what you do and what happens exactly?
Thanks!
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

garretthen
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 22:03

Re: Video output shifts then resolume crashes

Post by garretthen » Mon Nov 11, 2019 20:33

Hi, I don't think it is the processor.
The exact edid resolution of the LED screen is set on the processor and the graphics card.
There would be no black border.

I will look at the server tomorrow and upload the crash report.

Thanks

Post Reply