Spout - Sharing Video between Applications on Windows

Stay up to date with important updates, artist showcases and more
thedawjones
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 16:27
Location: Seattle, Washington

Re: Spout - Sharing Video between Applications on Windows

Post by thedawjones »

Try to manually type the sender name in the box in Sprout receiver clip window within Resolume called "sender name" -it works for me.
The select source button doesn't work for me, but the manual method works.

You and Doris may be better served by posting your problems in the "problems..." section of the forum. ;)
good luck

craftycurate
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 20:26

Re: Spout - Sharing Video between Applications on Windows

Post by craftycurate »

I found the manual typing in is hit and miss, even if I replicate what appears in the name box after using the dialog, it doesn't always initialise.
Win7 x64 Pro | 8GB | Nvidia Go 650M/2GB

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Spout - Sharing Video between Applications on Windows

Post by Joris »

Spout problems are best discussed in the Spout forums: http://spout.zeal.co/forums/forum/spout/

The Spout team is very helpful and responsive. Since native support for Spout is not possible (yet ), we have zero influence on any problems, you really need to talk to them.

craftycurate
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 20:26

Re: Spout - Sharing Video between Applications on Windows

Post by craftycurate »

Hi Joris ...

I can only speak for myself in saying that I'm not expecting you guys to fix Spout issues. I'm only sharing my own experiences that other Resolume users might find useful as we work out the pattern of how Resolume and Spout interact, and sharing tips on getting it up and running.

However, it's not always clear to us end users what is a Spout issue and what's a Resolume issue, since getting the two to work together involves both pieces of software. All we see is the end results, but we don't have source code level knowledge to be able to say why "A + B = not working".

By the way I have done and will continue to leave messages on the Spout forum :)

Native Spout support - that would be something.

Cheers
Richard
Win7 x64 Pro | 8GB | Nvidia Go 650M/2GB

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 651
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: Spout - Sharing Video between Applications on Windows

Post by pfelberg »

I finally got a new PC so I am willing to make lots of Spout usage with Arena.
Spout demos run fine in my both PC systems and they claim to be compatible.
But I don´t know why, Spout Receiver never show up in my Arena Effects List, just Sender.
Yes, it is properly installed, following the video tutorial to work with Arena.

Clues anyone?

thanks

Paulo

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: Spout - Sharing Video between Applications on Windows

Post by drazkers »

pfelberg wrote:I finally got a new PC so I am willing to make lots of Spout usage with Arena.
Spout demos run fine in my both PC systems and they claim to be compatible.
But I don´t know why, Spout Receiver never show up in my Arena Effects List, just Sender.
Yes, it is properly installed, following the video tutorial to work with Arena.

Clues anyone?

thanks

Paulo
Because its in sources. Not fx.

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 651
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: Spout - Sharing Video between Applications on Windows

Post by pfelberg »

Yeah. It took me the entire day to notice that.
Thanks. It is working beautifully, but there are o senders to setup my goal.
I wish to capture not specific spout supporting application into Resolume, like a webpage for instance,

Tks

craftycurate
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 20:26

Re: Spout - Sharing Video between Applications on Windows

Post by craftycurate »

pfelberg ... I've been thinking about this too, being able to pipe any visual output into Resolume. However, since this is only possible for apps which can channel their output into Spout to begin with, another solution might be to create an app in Max for example which includes web browsing facilities. Otherwise, if it's an app which has scripting\plugin facility like After effects then a plugin can be written.
Win7 x64 Pro | 8GB | Nvidia Go 650M/2GB

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 651
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: Spout - Sharing Video between Applications on Windows

Post by pfelberg »

I am no coder at all.
I am also looking after a middle way solution as using something like SparkoCam to capture a window content to a virtual videocam which can indeed be a source in Resolume.
Spout forum was clarifying but also frustrating.

thedawjones
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 16:27
Location: Seattle, Washington

Re: Spout - Sharing Video between Applications on Windows

Post by thedawjones »

VVVV supports web page as texture, with output to Resolume, if that is too intimidating then your best bet would be using a webcam emulator e.g. e2esoftcam, manycam, SparkoCam? etc.
good luck.

Post Reply