Erratic timekeeping behaviour 7.1.2.

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
theLABVisuals
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 03:28
Location: UK

Erratic timekeeping behaviour 7.1.2.

Post by theLABVisuals »

I'm trying to replicate the Resolume countdown I put together many years ago and have noticed some erratic timekeeping behaviour on playback. Individually each layer seems to behave, although there is some lag, and in some cases skipping of PNG.

phpBB [video]


The composition and all images are https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4ij8caw299ja ... q_sUa?dl=0

I know I can record the individual components as videos and use those, however it could be a timing glitch overall.
Creativity, Imagination, Inspiration, Caffeine.
At least I can rely on one of them
http://www.thelabvisuals.co.uk/

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Erratic timekeeping behaviour 7.1.2.

Post by Arvol »

The clips are 00:00:00:08 long, What happens if you make 0-9 at 1 frame, another 0-9 at 1 second, and the last 0-9 at 1 min in length?
I also converter the png's to a dxv3 but didn't notice any difference

theLABVisuals
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 03:28
Location: UK

Re: Erratic timekeeping behaviour 7.1.2.

Post by theLABVisuals »

The are PNG's. So setting the length in clip, should under Autopilot work.
As mentioned, if a layer is run individually then it appears to keep better time.
Creativity, Imagination, Inspiration, Caffeine.
At least I can rely on one of them
http://www.thelabvisuals.co.uk/

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4620
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Erratic timekeeping behaviour 7.1.2.

Post by Zoltán »

I'd try converting the images to Image sequence DXVs ;)
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

theLABVisuals
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 03:28
Location: UK

Re: Erratic timekeeping behaviour 7.1.2.

Post by theLABVisuals »

Yuup I know that. It's not a fix though, if theres an issue within Resolume isn't this what the forum is all about?

I made the render anyway, just longhanded.
Creativity, Imagination, Inspiration, Caffeine.
At least I can rely on one of them
http://www.thelabvisuals.co.uk/

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4620
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Erratic timekeeping behaviour 7.1.2.

Post by Zoltán »

PNG-s are far from ideal to run as content.
When decoding and uploading of the png is not finished before the next render pass, the timing of the clip will be off compared to the other clips.
In your top layer you try to display 100 pngs a second with the auto pilot. That would need 100FPS playback so they are all visible, but the composition FPS you get is 22. Auto pilot is evaluated at every render pass, you get 22 render passes a second, so you get lots of missed auto pilot actions because of the much higher rate you expect. That's why your layers go out of sync.

Loading the 0-9 pngs as 4x image sequence clips and switching off auto pilot, already gets me back to 60 FPS on my macbook with quite perfect timing: https://resolume.com/support/en/stills#image-sequences
Képernyőfotó 2020-09-20 - 9.37.49.png
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply