windows 8.1 resolution strange

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

windows 8.1 resolution strange

Post by hive8 »

I am using windows 8.1 on my new laptop i get some strange setting on resolume in the output settings, it only shows as 1536 x 864 even on the external screen i can see it as 1920 x 1080, i am on a nvidia 750m.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 774
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: windows 8.1 resolution strange

Post by He2neg »

i´m not sure but i know this resolution problem from work when the external & internal screen are in clone mode.

But clone mode would make no sense with resolume.
and also the grafikcard should be able to output 2 different resolutions.

Just in case the 1536 x 864 is the max resolution of your laptop screen then check in the windows settings or try if u can send a higher resolution to another monitor.
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Lemur / BirdDog Studio NDI
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: windows 8.1 resolution strange

Post by hive8 »

The laptop goes to 1920 x 1080 internal screen, also the external screen. I am outputting right now to a external screen still seeing 1538 x 864 (only in resolume) the display grid show 1920 x 1080 as well as the windows settings.
Last edited by hive8 on Sat Feb 01, 2014 03:27, edited 1 time in total.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: windows 8.1 resolution strange

Post by hive8 »

I notice something that i have a intel and a nvidia running at the same time, could it be that optimums is interfering?
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: windows 8.1 resolution strange

Post by hive8 »

Now even stranger, extended monitor is setup as 1920 x 1080, in resolume it shows as 1280 x 720.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 774
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: windows 8.1 resolution strange

Post by He2neg »

Yep thats for sure strange,
i couldnt help you further with this, seems to be the next windwos 8 bug. :evil:

Nvidia Optimus is running on my win 7 just fine and dont lower the performance as far as i can see.
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Lemur / BirdDog Studio NDI
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

aeldryn
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:11

Re: windows 8.1 resolution strange

Post by aeldryn »

Hi,

I have already mentioned the problem in viewtopic.php?f=12&t=10855

it is 8.1 incompatibility. Downgrade to 8.0 until Resolume or Windows releases fix

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: windows 8.1 resolution strange

Post by hive8 »

aeldryn wrote:Hi,

I have already mentioned the problem in viewtopic.php?f=12&t=10855

it is 8.1 incompatibility. Downgrade to 8.0 until Resolume or Windows releases fix
Your 100% correct i reverted to windows 8 and now everything is back to normal.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: windows 8.1 resolution strange

Post by Joris »

It is mentioned on that topic that this only happens when connected to an LCD TV. When an LCD monitor is used, it seems to be ok.

Can you confirm whether or not this is also the case for you?

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: windows 8.1 resolution strange

Post by hive8 »

The resolution was also not right when nothing is connected. Same goes if connected to LCD monitor.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

Post Reply