green screen performance

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
LakeCity
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 16:57

green screen performance

Post by LakeCity »

Hi guys,

I got asked to VJ at an event and to be honest, I don't really know how I should start my preparations.
What is the problem?
The event will take place in a green-screen studio, so I won't actually beam my visuals. I will have to use software (i think?) to replace the green walls with my visuals. I want to use resolume for the effects and mapping. The idea will be very similar to this: http://www.dontwatchthat.tv/channels/just-jam/
I guess I need software and 'something' to connect my visuals with the camera that's filming the studio.
NB: the event will be live-streamed so editing the whole thing later isn't an option

Can someone help me make a start, or give me some advice?

Thankksssss

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 962
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: green screen performance

Post by drazkers »

Capture with black magic card(HDMI/SDI). Use Chroma Keyer effect for the green, Mix as normal, then output to an external recording device and monitoring screens.

LakeCity
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 16:57

Re: green screen performance

Post by LakeCity »

Thanks a lot, at least I can start now. But there is a problem, chromakey crashes on my macbook (gpu isn't dedicated) and as far as I know, there isn't a way to make it work.

:(

LakeCity
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 16:57

Re: green screen performance

Post by LakeCity »

Anyone....

*echo*

Please? :cry:

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: green screen performance

Post by Joris »

There is no way to use the Chroma Key on an Intel GPU. You really need a dedicated card for it.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: green screen performance

Post by Oaktown »

Joris, I have a newer MBP with the Intel Iris Pro GPU and I can use the Chroma Key no problems.

LakeCity
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 16:57

Re: green screen performance

Post by LakeCity »

fob67cry: can u tell me which mbp that is exactly? Maybe I'll just sell mine and get a newer mbp. Really need this to work.

DayVeeJay
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 23:38
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: green screen performance

Post by DayVeeJay »

Check into PixelConduit. It features keying and you can send video to/from it with Syphon. I wouldnt be suprised if your GPU held you back though.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: green screen performance

Post by Oaktown »

I've got the newest version of the 15.4" MBP with the Intel Iris Pro and the NVIDIA GE Force GT 750M (see specs below)

The following youtube video will show you the chroma key effect on my MBP: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T_tgKwr ... e=youtu.be
Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 10.40.56 AM.png
Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 10.42.13 AM.png
Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 10.42.37 AM.png

LakeCity
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 16:57

Re: green screen performance

Post by LakeCity »

thank you so much!

Post Reply