Video Resolution in Output Problems

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
fingerblastj
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 19:52

Video Resolution in Output Problems

Post by fingerblastj » Sat Jun 07, 2014 09:25

Hey Resolumers

Im kind of a newb and kind of not but i need help.

What im doing is using serato with serato video along with syphon to get my music videos onto resolume.

Syphon and videos work fine and the videos look crisp in serato video output window, syphon window output,

resolume's output monitor, but look really grainy and sd like in the full screen output in resolume.

My head is starting to hurt because i cant figure it out.

Im running both apps on mac 10.9.3, latest and greatest macbook pro.

When im outputting the video, im sending it to my projector which is 1280x800 so that is also my composition size.

I hope this is enough info for someone to help.

Thanks in advanced!
Attachments
Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 4.11.39 AM.png
Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 4.13.41 AM.png
Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 4.13.58 AM.png
Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 4.17.57 AM.png

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 630
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: Video Resolution in Output Problems

Post by pfelberg » Sat Jun 07, 2014 13:24

Your video resolution seems to be the problem.
You are outputing from Serato as 400x225 pixels. Your projector has a 1200x800 resolution. If you are displaying your image in full screen, you are incresing its size about three times and also distorting it.

Another very important thing that also took me a while to fully understand: Arena composition sizes have no relation to the projector output resolution.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Video Resolution in Output Problems

Post by Oaktown » Sat Jun 07, 2014 14:45

Why are you scaling the output down in Serato? Your video resolution is 640 x 360 (16:9) but you are outputting 400 x 225 (16:9). Then you are scaling up in Resolume to 1280x800 which is a different format (16:10) so essentially you are scaling up 320% horizontally and 356% vertically which is not going to look clean since you're stretching the image vertically.

Why don't you output 640 x 360 out of Serato (or even better find the same video in 1280x720), set your composition to 1280 x 720, and your projector to 1280 x 720 as well.

If 1280 x 720 is not available on your projector, use the advanced output to create a 1280 x 720 slice within you 1280 x 800 projector and you'll be left with a black band of 80 pixels which you can set top, bottom or split however you want.
Input Selection.png
Output Transformation.png

fingerblastj
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 19:52

Re: Video Resolution in Output Problems

Post by fingerblastj » Sat Jun 07, 2014 20:06

Thanks for the responses.

I noticed the resolution on serato but theres no option of changing the output.

The only options i have are 4:3, 16:9 & no constrains, i choose no constraints, is that what i should choose?

Picture quality, best.

Not to mention all my videos are downloaded from a dj record pool and are hd in 720 if not 1080.

Does anyone know how to change it in serato?

fingerblastj
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 19:52

Re: Video Resolution in Output Problems

Post by fingerblastj » Sat Jun 07, 2014 20:28

ok i figured out why its was outputting such a low resolution.

When you click the video button in serato, it launches an output monitor to either mirror it on your main display or to display it on display 2.

However, since im using syphon to get it to resolume i dont need that monitor to be used to display anything.

So when i X it out and not resize the particular window to 1280 x 800, it gets stuck on that output which is a small window.

That being said, i resized it to 1280 x 800 and got it to look slightly better.

The only difference im noticing now is that the output window in resolume is much dimmer than the 1 of serato video.

Im attaching some screenshots and you can be the judges so you can let me know if im crazy or not.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 3.17.11 PM.png
Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 3.17.09 PM.png
Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 3.17.07 PM.png
Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 3.17.06 PM.png
Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 3.17.03 PM.png

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Video Resolution in Output Problems

Post by Oaktown » Sun Jun 08, 2014 15:39

What compositing mode are you using and what's the opacity level for the layer this syphon source is in?

User avatar
hookerbot
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 21:27

Re: Video Resolution in Output Problems

Post by hookerbot » Sun Jun 08, 2014 23:40

Just to build on fob67's reply, if you are using alpha blend mode you are going to want to make sure the video fader is all the way up on resolume so you are getting the full brightness. Good luck

fingerblastj
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 19:52

Re: Video Resolution in Output Problems

Post by fingerblastj » Tue Jun 10, 2014 20:49

You guys nailed it on the head.

It was alpha and the video fader was all the way up.

It looks good now, but one more quick question.

What is the best way to get the picture bright, crisp and hd?

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Video Resolution in Output Problems

Post by cosmowe » Tue Jun 10, 2014 23:30

;) shoot it in HD. All other ways will not satisfy you.
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || spark d'fuser || magewell capture dongle

fingerblastj
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 19:52

Re: Video Resolution in Output Problems

Post by fingerblastj » Wed Jun 11, 2014 07:23

Doing video mapping at events. Some of the time i dont think the venues will keep the light dimmed. So i need it extra crisp :)

Heres an example:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_rZW3 ... sp=sharing

Any help much appreciated

Post Reply