Camera Lag

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
CCM - Bradyn
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 06:51

Camera Lag

Post by CCM - Bradyn » Mon Jun 09, 2014 17:23

I am running Resolume Arena 4 on a Mac Pro with 20GB of ram and a blackmagic HD SDI decklink card. The camera is a Canon XLH1 shooting at 1080i 30 fps. When doing the live video capture there is a 7 frame lag and I don't know how to make this better. Ideally I want a lag of 0 frames but even if I can get it down to under 5 frames that would be great. Any suggestions?

DayVeeJay
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 23:38
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Camera Lag

Post by DayVeeJay » Mon Jun 09, 2014 19:18

What kind of connection are you using from the camera to the decklink?

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Camera Lag

Post by Oaktown » Mon Jun 09, 2014 20:11

Do you get the same lag when you test the camera in Blackmagic Media Express?

Keep in mind that you can't have the same port selected in both software so you'll have to close Arena 4.

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: Camera Lag

Post by drazkers » Mon Jun 09, 2014 21:54

0 frames is impossible right now, 2 is the lowest you'll ever get. On any system right now.

Make sure your not capturing using direct show source.

CCM - Bradyn
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 06:51

Re: Camera Lag

Post by CCM - Bradyn » Tue Jun 10, 2014 00:13

The camera is connected to the computer via SDI cable.

CCM - Bradyn
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 06:51

Re: Camera Lag

Post by CCM - Bradyn » Tue Jun 10, 2014 03:23

I get a 3-4 frame lag when I use Blackmagic Media Express. What settings should I be using in Resolume to get the same results?

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: Camera Lag

Post by drazkers » Tue Jun 10, 2014 04:55

Thats still slightly high. I normally get 2fps - 3FPS.

So in the sources you'll see two decklinks sdi sources to drag over. One will say blackmagic the other will be directshow. Don't use the one under directshow if you wanna save FPS.

CCM - Bradyn
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 06:51

Re: Camera Lag

Post by CCM - Bradyn » Tue Jun 10, 2014 06:13

I got the lag down to 4 frames by selecting the disable global effects & blend modes check box in the video preferences. The only option for the camera in sources is "blackmagic decklink sdi." Any other suggestions?

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Camera Lag

Post by cosmowe » Tue Jun 10, 2014 08:35

There also is a device from Magewell.

The Magewell sdi usb3
http://www.magewell.com/hardware/dongle ... ml?lang=en

I had some really good performance experiences with the hdmi version of this tool.


Greetings
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || spark d'fuser || magewell capture dongle

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2768
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Camera Lag

Post by Oaktown » Tue Jun 10, 2014 15:02

What are the settings on your Canon XLH1? Are you coming out of the HD-SDI port in the back?

The XLH1 is 1440x1080 native not 1920x1080 which means there must be some processing in the camera before the HD-SDI 1080 signal output so I'm wondering if the lag comes from your camera. Also, the actual frame rates on that camera are 59.94, 29.97 and 23.976 for 60i mode, so you should select 29.97 in the drop down menu not 30.

Have you tried to come out of the camera with a Component signal with a 1440x1080 using the DTC-1000 cable to test the lag?

Also, do you have a 1920x1080 camera such as a Sony EX3 you can test your system with.

Frédéric

Post Reply