LOW MEMORY Warning with Capture Cards

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
dbassix
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 22:47

LOW MEMORY Warning with Capture Cards

Post by dbassix »

I have a Show upcomming where in need to handle 3 capture Inputs.

I have 2 Decklink Mini Recorder and one Intensity 4k.
As soon as i load the Intensity 4k into the comp, the Memoryload jumps up about 1GB.

My Comp Settings are 5236 x 1080

Any suggestions on this?

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: LOW MEMORY Warning with Capture Cards

Post by hive8 »

What hardware are you using?

Motherboard, CPU, GPU, RAM?
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

dbassix
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 22:47

Re: LOW MEMORY Warning with Capture Cards

Post by dbassix »

My Hardware is an i7 2600K on an Asus P8P67 Deluxe with 16GB DDR3 Ram and an HD7850 Eyefinity 6

dirtyjohn_lv
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 22:24
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: LOW MEMORY Warning with Capture Cards

Post by dirtyjohn_lv »

You're most likely running out of system resources.

The CPU only has 16 PCI express lanes.

980 + 2 mini recorder + Intensity 4k = 22 lanes

Could be that the system can't handle the load and it's trying to offload to memory

dbassix
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 22:47

Re: LOW MEMORY Warning with Capture Cards

Post by dbassix »

I don't think that this is causing the issue. GPU-Z shows me the gpu as 8x. With the Intensity 4K and the two mini recorder its a total of 14 lanes used.

But anyway, i just got an i7 4820K (40Lane CPU) here with an asus P9X79 Board and 16GB DDR3 Ram. I'll check this config tomorrow and see if there is any improvement.

Can't wait to get a 64bit Arena ;)

hive8
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 22:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: LOW MEMORY Warning with Capture Cards

Post by hive8 »

I am also pretty sure you ran out of system resources.
HIVE 8 | Quantum Laser | http://www.hive8.com

lightbx
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 21:05

Re: LOW MEMORY Warning with Capture Cards

Post by lightbx »

I can't speak to the technical details here, just saying I once ran a weekend-long mini fest with 2 Intensity Pro 4K's (to pipe in other VJ's). The "LOW SYSTEM MEMORY!!!" message persisted all weekend, but nothing happened. No crashes, no input freezes, black boxes, or anything. We tried restarting etc. during break times, but the message always appeared, and we just kept running Arena 5 anyway because we had no choice.

That may not help you at all, and this is definitely bad advice, but if you absolutely need to, you can always roll the dice...

dirtyjohn_lv
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 22:24
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: LOW MEMORY Warning with Capture Cards

Post by dirtyjohn_lv »

dbassix wrote:I don't think that this is causing the issue. GPU-Z shows me the gpu as 8x. With the Intensity 4K and the two mini recorder its a total of 14 lanes used.
Is this with or without Resolume running video? In a non-use power-save state GPU will normally read half the lanes as being active.

On my laptop, it switch from x16 1.1 to x16 3.0 when I open resolume

dbassix
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 22:47

Re: LOW MEMORY Warning with Capture Cards

Post by dbassix »

The GPU is at 8x with or without resolume running. I think the System handles the pcie Speeds on Startup either there are more pcie Cards installed or not.

@LIGHTBX - what are your tech specs?

dirtyjohn_lv
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 22:24
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: LOW MEMORY Warning with Capture Cards

Post by dirtyjohn_lv »

Something is causing the system to offload some of the workload to memory.

If your card is running at x8, then I would move your Intensity to another slot (#7, instead of #5).

Maybe something like
1: Mini recorder
2: GPU
3: Mini recorder
4: empty
5: empty (putting a card here will cause GPU to run at x8, not x16)
6: empty
7: Intensity 4k

What resolutions are you trying to capture? You have to think about bandwidth issues being caused too.
If your card is running at x8, PCIE 2.0 at x8 has 4GB bandwidth max
1920x1080@60Hz 8bit color just over 4Gbps bandwidth ~4.4

So then let's say you're only capturing 1280x720@60 8bit color, ~2.6Gbps
So 2 mini recorders trying to capture 720p would put you at 5.2Gbps, which is still above the 4GB bandwidth cap for PCIE 2.0 at x8

Because resolume has native support for BMD, means they capture to the GPU, but since the GPU can't process all of that information it has to go somewhere. Next best thing, memory

Post Reply