Keyboard Mapping Global Speed

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
User avatar
VJzoo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:41
Location: Perth, Australia

Keyboard Mapping Global Speed

Post by VJzoo »

Is it possible to assign 2 keys to make Global Speed speed up/slow down? e.g. + for faster and - for slower. This was possible last time there was a global speed function in R2.x
Jas
(the dyslexic VJzoo)

http://vjzoo.com
~ quite nice visuals ~

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Keyboard Mapping Global Speed

Post by Arvol »

Do you mind running touch designer in the background? This could be achieved via touch designer and osc

User avatar
VJzoo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:41
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Keyboard Mapping Global Speed

Post by VJzoo »

Arvol wrote:Do you mind running touch designer in the background? This could be achieved via touch designer and osc
I was looking at TD to do it but I was hoping there would be something with a lower overhead, ideally being able to do it within Resolume but I dont think that is possible yet.
Jas
(the dyslexic VJzoo)

http://vjzoo.com
~ quite nice visuals ~

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4621
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Keyboard Mapping Global Speed

Post by Zoltán »

If you would switch your clips to BPM sync you could do this with the composition tempo.

Or you could create 3 keyboard shortcuts on the Composition speed slider by duplicating the firs and setting the key to them.
Then set the mode to values on each shortcut, and one could be set 0.9, one to 1, and one to 1.1.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
VJzoo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:41
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Keyboard Mapping Global Speed

Post by VJzoo »

Zoltán wrote:If you would switch your clips to BPM sync you could do this with the composition tempo.

Or you could create 3 keyboard shortcuts on the Composition speed slider by duplicating the firs and setting the key to them.
Then set the mode to values on each shortcut, and one could be set 0.9, one to 1, and one to 1.1.
The BMP sync sounds like it might do the trick will give that a shot :)
Jas
(the dyslexic VJzoo)

http://vjzoo.com
~ quite nice visuals ~

User avatar
VJzoo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:41
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Keyboard Mapping Global Speed

Post by VJzoo »

So just gave the BPM a go, its close but it would be nice if you could hold down a key and it continues to change the value not just on a keystroke and I realised how many clips I need to change (around 1700 decks worth), Is there a way of changing multiple clips to BMP mode at once?

I gave the second way a shot to and its ok but as it only gives a set value on keystroke and not a relative change it wont do what we are after.

We are after a way to do incremental smooth changes to speed for content that has dancers in it to make it look like they are in time with the music.

Hopefully there will be an implementation of keystrokes to faders like it used to be in 2.x see attached.
R2settings.jpg
Jas
(the dyslexic VJzoo)

http://vjzoo.com
~ quite nice visuals ~

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4621
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Keyboard Mapping Global Speed

Post by Zoltán »

This could be done easily with a midi controller btw.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
VJzoo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:41
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Keyboard Mapping Global Speed

Post by VJzoo »

Zoltán wrote:This could be done easily with a midi controller btw.
Agreed though that's another thing we have to take with us and fined space. In the past when we have used a midi controller but keystrokes gave us finer control over a midi fader/nob.

Will have go a making it in TD with OSC I guess but that's a big overhead for a few button presses that could be done in R2 haha :P
Jas
(the dyslexic VJzoo)

http://vjzoo.com
~ quite nice visuals ~

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Keyboard Mapping Global Speed

Post by Joris »

I'm actually kind of feeling this. A general shortcut mode that increments and decrements a value via momentary keypress.

Another drop in the feature bucket.

User avatar
VJzoo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:41
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Keyboard Mapping Global Speed

Post by VJzoo »

Joris wrote:I'm actually kind of feeling this. A general shortcut mode that increments and decrements a value via momentary keypress.

Another drop in the feature bucket.
Cool sounds great :D
Jas
(the dyslexic VJzoo)

http://vjzoo.com
~ quite nice visuals ~

Post Reply