Multi-screen stuttering problem

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
zone_nord
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 15:15

Multi-screen stuttering problem

Post by zone_nord » Thu Nov 08, 2018 16:07

Hello,
Got some stuttering issues with this big screen I just installed
IMG_2598.JPG
We are using 5 led control cards for it.
The first video card (gtx 1050 ti) outputs to 4 led cards
The other one (same model) outputs to the last led card and my monitor
Screenshot_4.png
Screenshot_4.png (2.04 KiB) Viewed 1277 times
Screenshot_3.png
I used Resolume's advanced output to map the videowall through the multiple video outs
Screenshot_5.png
Composition size is
4480 x 1120px @ 30 fps

I'm seeing small stuttering between the outs of the card controlling 4 led cards (barely visible but not completely fluid), and big stuttering with the other card controlling the last out and my monitor.
Here's a video of the problem

https://youtu.be/cpbIYZRP2NE

I tried setting delays on the displays and increasing the composition fps
What else could I try? Any suggestions?

Thanks

birolakay
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 18:15

Re: Multi-screen stuttering problem

Post by birolakay » Sun Nov 11, 2018 16:19

Hello, can you help me with the same problem

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2765
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Multi-screen stuttering problem

Post by Oaktown » Sun Nov 11, 2018 16:45

Are all your LED panels the same model and pitch?

What LED control cards are you using?

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Multi-screen stuttering problem

Post by cosmowe » Sun Nov 11, 2018 18:20

Hi zone_nord,
what you discover is a framesync problem. Your big sync discrepancy from out 1 can only be solved if you move it to the other outputs (Out 3-6) on the other 1080ti.

But, I guess you have no more outputs left. So then, you should try to run your whole setup (4480x1120px) with 3x 1920x1080 from one card. Yes you have to rewire and remap.... but thats your only option now...

annnnnd....now I just saw that your post was from the 8th November..... :D ... so I have to ask.... did you solve your problem?

Best wishes
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || spark d'fuser || magewell capture dongle

birolakay
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 18:15

Re: Multi-screen stuttering problem

Post by birolakay » Sun Nov 11, 2018 18:56

all my panels are the same model. i am using novastar card

zone_nord
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 15:15

Re: Multi-screen stuttering problem

Post by zone_nord » Sun Nov 11, 2018 20:25

- yeah the whole screen has identical leds and controllers
- I had no hdmi outs left on the secondary card to connect everything there but I'll use one DVI-DVI to do it (didn't have the cable there to try it)
that would probably temporary fix it till' I manage to cascade the led controllers so I could use just one video out as a big screen (or at least half of it)

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2765
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Multi-screen stuttering problem

Post by Oaktown » Mon Nov 12, 2018 06:12

Keep in mind that even though your card has five connectors, it only has for outputs!

Have you considered using a Datapath X4/FX4?

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: Multi-screen stuttering problem

Post by drazkers » Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:37

Most people wonder why expensive media servers use firepros and quadros for cards that don't perform as well as the GTX line.

This right here is a major issue with gaming cards. They're made for gaming monitors with borders. Not seamless outputs. One thing you can do is connect the cards with an SLI cable and then Configure Surround displays. Sometimes it fixes it, sometimes it doesn't.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3694
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Multi-screen stuttering problem

Post by Zoltán » Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:14

drazkers wrote:
Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:37
One thing you can do is connect the cards with an SLI cable and then Configure Surround displays.
SLI disables the outputs on the second card completely as far as I know.
So, the safest solution would be a Quadro card to 2x FX4-s I think.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2765
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Multi-screen stuttering problem

Post by Oaktown » Mon Nov 12, 2018 15:59

drazkers wrote:One thing you can do is connect the cards with an SLI cable and then Configure Surround displays. Sometimes it fixes it, sometimes it doesn't.
I don't believe the 1050 cards can do Surround in SLI mode. Also with 1080 cards in SLI mode, Surround supports 3 screens max. but could connect 2 accessory displays so it wouldn't really help.
Zoltan wrote:SLI disables the outputs on the second card completely as far as I know.
Yes, SLI only increases the processing power not the number of outputs. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scalable_Link_Interface
Zoltan wrote:So, the safest solution would be a Quadro card to 2x FX4-s I think.
Yes, with 2 Datapath FX4, you could drive up to 8 screens in sync by using the DisplayPort through port and in this particular case, I would plan the screen layout in Wall Designer rather than in the advanced output.

Another option would be to switch to 2 (or more) Quadro cards with a Sync (I or II) card.

Post Reply