How to Match Source encoding DXV in Adobe?

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
User avatar
gpvillamil
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

How to Match Source encoding DXV in Adobe?

Post by gpvillamil » Tue Dec 18, 2018 01:18

So I'd like to re-encode a bunch of videos into DXV using Adobe Media Encoder (there are... reasons) and I notice that a couple of useful parameters are missing.

When setting the video size, the default is 1920 x 1080. I'd like to be able to "Match Source" for the video size, since I have several different sizes in the project. There is no "Match Source" button.

Also - where do I select the Quality and Alpha settings?

I might be able to use Alley for this, which does have the settings, but I'm wondering why they don't appear in AME.

Here's the DXV dialog:
DXV in AME.png
And for comparison here is the HAP dialog:
HAP in AME.png

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2764
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: How to Match Source encoding DXV in Adobe?

Post by Oaktown » Tue Dec 18, 2018 02:54

Unfortunately there is no [Match Source] with the DXV3 codec in AME

As far as the DXV setting, you'll need to scroll up!
Screen Shot 2018-12-17 at 17.51.59.png

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1058
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: How to Match Source encoding DXV in Adobe?

Post by Arvol » Tue Dec 18, 2018 17:37

I believe Alley has a match source option.

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: How to Match Source encoding DXV in Adobe?

Post by edwin » Tue Dec 18, 2018 19:39

We would love to add support for the 'Match Source' button but somehow we can't seem to get it to work properly. We've had contact with Adobe about this but haven't been of any great help either.

User avatar
gpvillamil
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 498
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: How to Match Source encoding DXV in Adobe?

Post by gpvillamil » Tue Dec 18, 2018 20:03

I'm sure you know this, but there is an "official" HAP encoder for Adobe, and it is open source.

https://github.com/disguise-one/hap-encoder-adobe-cc

Perhaps you could look at how they get the Match Source feature to work?

In general Alley has been great, but there are a couple of use cases where AME is useful, basically when we are rendering comps in various shapes and sizes from AE, and it is easier to just add to the AME queue from inside AE than to render to an intermediate format.

Post Reply