Two linked clips.

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 359
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Two linked clips.

Post by francoe »

Has anyone noticed a strange behaviour where a clip is 'linked' to another?
By linked I mean, if you clear a clip, the other is cleared too. If you move a clip to another placeholder, the second clip moves too.
It happened to me several times but allways during a gig, so no time to check it out what's going on.
I use to close and reopen the app, and gets fixed.

There's something I'm missing about that? :?

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1152
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: Two linked clips.

Post by edwin »

The clips somehow ended up having the same unique id, not sure how that happened but it's certainly a bug. If you remember the steps you took that led to this behaviour please let us know and we can see if we can replicate it and come up with a fix.
Or of course it's a case of 'quantum entanglement', if so i don't know what to suggest ;)

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4622
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Two linked clips.

Post by Zoltán »

We fixed an issue that sounds like this, way back on 6.0.4.
Duplicating a deck, you could end up with clip duplicates which have the same uniqueID.

Which Resolume version are you using now, and which version did you use to create your composition?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 359
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: Two linked clips.

Post by francoe »

Thanks guys.
I'm using the last 6 & 7, my comp is not so old, but those decks has a long time riding over here.
I'm glad to know isn't a quantum entanglement :lol: Now I have a spot where to put my eye.
I will just recreate all my decks, bet that will fix it.

User avatar
VJzoo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:41
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Two linked clips.

Post by VJzoo »

Having a similar problems with lots of compositions that were converted (using an old tool for 2.x to 3 conversion and then to 4/6 hehe xD ) Is there any way to fix it without manually editing the XML and changing all the uniqueIDs or is the answer to just rebuild the compositions? Asking for a friend who has hundreds of decks :P *that friend is me.
Jas
(the dyslexic VJzoo)

http://vjzoo.com
~ quite nice visuals ~

User avatar
VJzoo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:41
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Two linked clips.

Post by VJzoo »

Found a solution :) if you copy the clips in the deck and past them over it fixes the issue and keeps all the clips settings etc.
Jas
(the dyslexic VJzoo)

http://vjzoo.com
~ quite nice visuals ~

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4622
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Two linked clips.

Post by Zoltán »

That's a nice easy workaround!
Thanks for sharing it!
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply