framerate auto vs 50

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
willtom
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:28

framerate auto vs 50

Post by willtom »

The last couple of shows I have noticed a weird thing, on both Arena 6 and 7.

I usually program my show on auto frame rate, to check I'm not pushing the hardware too much and dropping below my target framerate. Once everything is programmed and working nicely I'll then change from auto to lock at 50fps, so I'm not causing any issues for the camera guys (25/50 in my country).

The last couple of jobs though, my auto framerate has been mid 50s, but when I lock at 50 the fps counter in Arena is showing a variety of numbers around 48, only occasionally reaching 50. Any idea why specifying a framerate like that would incur such a performance penalty?

(When I'm massively underutilising my hardware, say one vt of playback, the framerate lock holds 50.00 with only very occasional fluctuations above or below)

Online
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4701
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: framerate auto vs 50

Post by Zoltán »

The FPS setting in the composition setting is just an upper limit: https://resolume.com/support/en/composition#framerate
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

willtom
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:28

Re: framerate auto vs 50

Post by willtom »

I thought it was, but enabling it drops my frame rate by around 10%, and puts it below the target when there was previously enough processing to run above the target

deflost
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 23:10

Re: framerate auto vs 50

Post by deflost »

hello,
we have the same issue.
about 15-20% down on some machines.
and is in no case a hardware problem, because without limitation there are between 129 and 60 fps on fps overlay, and with 50 frame limit it degrees allways a bit around 10 to 20 %.
the most of our machines are with gtx 1080 or gtx 1080ti, so that doesn´t matter, there´s still enough performance backup, but the older ones sometimes getting under 50fps with limit and around 60 with limit.
so what´s the problem with framerate lock?

r.h.
westfernsehen, leipzig

deflost
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 23:10

Re: framerate auto vs 50

Post by deflost »

...around 60fps WITHOUT limit......
westfernsehen, leipzig

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: framerate auto vs 50

Post by francoe »

I noticed that every time I need to feed a 25fps stream.
Setting:
Auto=60fps
25 = 23-24fps

I use to set Auto and then drop it with other hardware to have a steady 25fps.

Post Reply