composition fft not working at all

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

composition fft not working at all

Post by mowgli »

I'm on Arena 6. I never tried using composition fft before but it doesn't appear to work. I have a wav playing on a clip but Arena just doesn't see the audio. External fft is working fine.
Are there any settings I'm missing for this to work?
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

Re: composition fft not working at all

Post by mowgli »

I've also just realised that dropping a wav on a clip with generative content makes the content invisible. The clip's thumbnail displays as if the content was AV but the clip panel doesn't show any of the generative settings. Splitting audio from the clip brings back all the generative parameters and visibility.
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

Re: composition fft not working at all

Post by mowgli »

the composition fft started working suddenly but i still have the issue with generative stuff becoming invisible if paired with audio
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4711
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: composition fft not working at all

Post by Zoltán »

Tried to add wav files to built in generators and effect clips, and that works fine for me.
What kind of generative content do you see the issue with?

Could you share a screenshot of the clip panel from a clip like this?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

Re: composition fft not working at all

Post by mowgli »

Image

This is one.
I'm getting extremely erratic behaviour. Now, dropping audio on a generative clip resets its thumbnail. About one in 4 attempts at doing this then works as expected (with reset thumbnail) the other 3 times the visuals disappear and only the audio plays. I've tried this with practically all the generative sources on both windows and mac with similar results.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-09-15 at 13.03.24.png
Screen Shot 2020-09-15 at 13.03.24.png (4.23 KiB) Viewed 1865 times
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

Re: composition fft not working at all

Post by mowgli »

and this is the thumbnail on windows which incidentally looks like the mac did the other day. With PIP screen rather than the audio and video on top of each other
RES THUMB.PNG
RES THUMB.PNG (17.4 KiB) Viewed 1861 times
When it looks like this the video doesn't play. If it resets the thumbnail as above then both play...
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

Re: composition fft not working at all

Post by mowgli »

I figured out that the problem was that the audio was being dropped on the visuals from a clip that was set as persistent. The problem now is the thumbnail resetting which is not as bad!
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4711
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: composition fft not working at all

Post by Zoltán »

Indeed, the pip thumbnail shows when you have a persistent clip in the position, and you switch to a deck which already has a clip in the same slot. Launching such a pip thumbnail clip will launch the persistent clip. https://resolume.com/support/en/clips#persistent-clips
mowgli wrote: Tue Sep 15, 2020 13:23 The problem now is the thumbnail resetting which is not as bad!
Which thumbnail is resetting, and how?

Or would you like to set a thumbnail yourself? You can do that with CMD(Control) + Shift +T
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

Re: composition fft not working at all

Post by mowgli »

Ok:
• there's a clip with generative content with a custom thumbnail
• I drop a .wav over it while pressing shift
• The custom thumbnail is gone and I get the default one for whatever the generative source on it is.
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4711
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: composition fft not working at all

Post by Zoltán »

Hmm, interesting.
I'll make a ticket.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply