Resolume Media Server Woes

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
dijjital
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

Resolume Media Server Woes

Post by dijjital »

I'm a designer for a well known DJ. We're about to do our first tour with production and I'm going through my options for what software to use to control the video walls. I'm a longtime Modul8 user, I like how it handles video mapping across multiple cards. It's DMX handling is horrible, however, and one of the stipulations of this tour is that the whole show is controlled via a GrandMA lighting console. I have been testing out Resolume 3 which, on the surface, is a much better app that's really well suited to matching visuals to music. I love how you can create scenes and cues and aren't limited to 8 as you are in Modul8...

My problem is frame rates. When I open up Resolume 3.2 and load the provided demo content I am only able to push 20fps with 2 layers of video.

My System Specs
8 core Mac Pro
6GB RAM
3x Radeon HD 2600 cards with 256mb vRAM each
OSX 10.6.4
RAID5 configuration with 3 eSATA disks and a dedicated hardware RAID controller

My screen configuration is:
2x 1024x768 via DVI (my outputs)
1x 1680x1050 via DVI (my control monitor)

With Modul8 I can use the same clips and pull at least 30fps with the same configuration of screens...
I would like to take Resolume out and show it off on this tour, take advantage it's more advanced interface and really give this DJ a great show. However unless I figure out what's up with the performance issues I'll be using Modul8.
Any ideas?

bart
Team Resolume

Re: Resolume Media Server Woes

Post by bart »

The demo clips are not rendered in the DXV codec, try rendering some of your clips with the DXV codec and you'll get a much better frame rate.

Or you can download some DXV demo files here:
http://resolume.com/gfx/dxv/OrangeStrings_480p_DXV.zip

dijjital

Post by dijjital »