Transport Bar Open causes FPS drop

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
craftycurate
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 20:26

Transport Bar Open causes FPS drop

Post by craftycurate » Tue Feb 21, 2012 03:26

In 4.0.1, I am running the Raiders2 or any other clip from the demo composition. All other layers are empty.

When the Transport bar is open in the Clip properties, FPS drops to 34 fps or so, but when I close the Transport bar, fps jumps back up to 60 fps!

When a clip is running on Timeline mode, the fps is about 34, but when I change it to BPM sync, fps jumps up to about 52 fps, returning to 60 when the Transport bar is closed.

Playing a clip on each of the 3 layers in default composition, fps is about 29 with the Transport bar of ALL clips closed, but as soon as Transport bar is open for one or more clips, it drops to about 21 fps.

This is 100% reproducible in the current session.

XP Pro SP3.

Cheers
Richard
Win7 x64 Pro | 8GB | Nvidia Go 650M/2GB

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5180
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Transport Bar Open causes FPS drop

Post by Joris » Tue Feb 21, 2012 15:54

This used to be a big problem on OSX, and we're glad we finally were able to improve it. (This was why the 3.3.3 release was important for OSX). It has to do with the underlying framework which decides what part of the UI screen gets redrawn. We never heard of it being such a big issue on Windows though.

We'll take another look. Would it be possible for you to see if it's any better on Win7 in the meantime?

User avatar
VJair
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 21:23
Location: Kent - UK

Re: Transport Bar Open causes FPS drop

Post by VJair » Tue Feb 21, 2012 16:15

just tried this on win 7 64 bit - tried everything but cant reproduce it.

no drop in frame rate for me in relation to transport bars being open / closed / time line / bpm sync / transport controls visable

craftycurate
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 20:26

Re: Transport Bar Open causes FPS drop

Post by craftycurate » Tue Feb 21, 2012 17:13

Sorry I only have access to XP at the moment.
Win7 x64 Pro | 8GB | Nvidia Go 650M/2GB

Post Reply