Resolume slows to a crawl when outputting to two video cards

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
zebbler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 23:40

Resolume slows to a crawl when outputting to two video cards

Post by zebbler » Sat Sep 01, 2012 04:13

Brand new Mac Pro,
Two 2.40GHz 6-‐‑Core Intel Xeon processors (12 cores)
32GB (8x4GB)
512GB solid-‐‑state drive
1TB 7200-‐‑rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s hard drive
Two ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB

Brand new Resolume Arena 4,
Routing my video output through advanced to 4 projectors.
It slows to a crawl.

With NOTHING outputting - it plays at 15fps.
With video - 8 fps.

This is one of the fastest computers on Earth, why???

zebbler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 23:40

Re: Resolume slows to a crawl when outputting to two video c

Post by zebbler » Sat Sep 01, 2012 04:19

One thing I did notice is that it seems to be consistently playing back slower on one of the cards.
60fps on just one, 40fps on just the other.
It's a brand new computer... I am pretty bewildered by this behavior. The chances of the card being messed up I think are pretty small... but it's acting like it's preferring one card over the other.

Any ideas?

Basic
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 09:39
Location: UK

Re: Resolume slows to a crawl when outputting to two video c

Post by Basic » Sat Sep 01, 2012 06:26

I'm sure when you are outputting it should only be through the one card. I may be mistaken. Have a quick search but im sure this has been mentioned a few times. :)
Resolume Avenue 3.3.3 - MBP i7, 8gb RAM - Snow Leopard (2010). Akai APC20

zebbler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 23:40

Re: Resolume slows to a crawl when outputting to two video c

Post by zebbler » Sat Sep 01, 2012 06:34

That's so frustrating. Why does Resolume even claim to support multi-monitor output?
We bought the newest $5,000 Mac Pro just to be able to output to 4 projectors. And there's a chance that we'll need to bump that up to 6.

What could be my possible solution to outputting to four displays in this case?
One card only provides 3 outputs....

Can I split the three outputs further with Matrox Dual Heads? Would one card be able to support two dual heads and a desktop monitor?

the_psychologist
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 03:40

Re: Resolume slows to a crawl when outputting to two video c

Post by the_psychologist » Sat Sep 01, 2012 07:49

http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-Splitter-Por ... 3+splitter

something like this?

It makes no sense to try to output the same image to 4-6 projectors using all the Macs outputs, as you take a frame rate hit every time you add a new slice/display. Better to buy a couple splitters and take load off the GPU. Then you can make sure you're around 60fps at all times. If you want to have unique video on each of the 4-6 displays, then you will have to have a pimp computer indeed.

BTW you're using DXV, right?

the_psychologist
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 03:40

Re: Resolume slows to a crawl when outputting to two video c

Post by the_psychologist » Sat Sep 01, 2012 07:57

BTW why not get more powerful GPUs? They are underpowered for that rig...

BPM
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:37

Re: Resolume slows to a crawl when outputting to two video c

Post by BPM » Sat Sep 01, 2012 09:47

Two DualHead/TrippleHead are supported only over PC (According to Matrox).
I used two GFX cards (560ti) to 4 outputs and everything is OK (Over PC).

zebbler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 23:40

Re: Resolume slows to a crawl when outputting to two video c

Post by zebbler » Sat Sep 01, 2012 09:48

Yes, using DXV.
Looking to map one giant image across 4 - 6 projectors.
Somehow thought a Mac Pro would do the trick with its 6 outputs. I guess I was wrong.

Could anyone recommend what GPUs I can get to replace my current ones?
I suppose just one much better GPU would do, since Resolume can't utilize two anyway?

My current plan is to use two Matrox DualHeads (which would give me four outputs via two mini-display ports) and use the built-in third out in one card for my preview monitor.
As per my usual habit - all of this needs to happen within two days - and I have a show in a different city to fly to today. Going to be hectic trying to get this all sorted proper.

zebbler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 23:40

Re: Resolume slows to a crawl when outputting to two video c

Post by zebbler » Sat Sep 01, 2012 09:50

BPM - I have an analog dual head and an analog triple head - tried plugging both in - they seemed to work... So I'll give that a try with two dedicated digital edition dual heads... seeing how I don't have many more options to try within two days.

Unless there's a really good single card with 4+ outputs?

CRGxxx
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 14:24
Location: Salop

Re: Resolume slows to a crawl when outputting to two video c

Post by CRGxxx » Sat Sep 01, 2012 11:52

Having similar issues myself... I put it down to Mac using ridiculously old graphics cards.
I hate to say this because we use quartz composer a lot but a PC with modern cards such as eyefinity 6 might be a better bet.

Come on apple get with the program and give us some decent graphics cards...
If they dont sort this out soon we will have to bite the bullet and move our all of our computers which is currently over 20 machines to another platform.

Please Resolume port to linux.. that way we get a reliable platform and a world of graphics card options.

Apologies for the rant

CRGxxx

Post Reply