FFGL Text Rendering

FFGL, OSC, GLSL. If you like abbreviations, this is the forum for you
CatSack
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

FFGL Text Rendering

Post by CatSack »

Hi,
I am completely brand new to all of this (Resolume, FFGL, so on) but I've gotten the general gist of it. I can make a simple plugin with FFGL, and I'm pretty good with WebGL, but I have very little C++/C experience. I've been asked to code a plugin involving text rendering, which I found out you should do with FreeType. I got it imported correctly, and have been trying to follow along with some tutorials I found, but to be honest I have no idea where to put any of the code. Any help getting started would be greatly appreciated!

Zoltán
Team Resolume

Re: FFGL Text Rendering

Post by Zoltán »

Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

CatSack

Post by CatSack »

Zoltán wrote: Mon Mar 15, 2021 13:53 This might help: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=17231
I checked that out already, that's actually where I got the idea to use FreeType. I've read enough tutorials about it to get how it works, I'm just unsure where I should put everything in my existing code. Thank you though!

Menno
Team Resolume

Post by Menno »

Perhaps the examples in the ffgl repo can be of use to you. For example https://github.com/resolume/ffgl/blob/m ... dients.cpp

stuff you need to do once during loading go into InitGL, Rendering goes into ProcessOpenGL. If you need help with how to use c++ you're probably best off to find a tutorial or book somewhere.

CatSack

Post by CatSack »

Menno wrote: Thu Mar 18, 2021 14:49 Perhaps the examples in the ffgl repo can be of use to you. For example https://github.com/resolume/ffgl/blob/m ... dients.cpp