FreeFrame DepthCam Plugins

FFGL, OSC, GLSL. If you like abbreviations, this is the forum for you
User avatar
gradek
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 20:14

FreeFrame DepthCam Plugins

Post by gradek » Sat Jul 23, 2011 19:53

I've just discovered a site that claims to have developed an FreeFrame GL plugin for Resolume that allows the integration of a "DepthCam" or a motion camera like Microsoft Kinect.

Just curious if anyone has tested this, its PC only at the moment.

I'm not sure if It can control a 3D bone structure or how the data can be connected/used in resolume or if it just provides a video feed.

http://vjfx.com/main/download/item/64-f ... am-plugins
Want to map LED rings with Resolume? Then look no further: https://goo.gl/f2dPGu

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1143
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: FreeFrame DepthCam Plugins

Post by edwin » Wed Jul 27, 2011 07:57

I think the plugin only shows the depth image of the sensor, although this is fun to see it's not very usefull. We have some code lying around that renders a point cloud using the kinect openframeworks code. Maybe we can see if we can post it in the forum as a goodie...i will ask Dani, our OpenGl master ;-)

User avatar
gradek
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 20:14

Re: FreeFrame DepthCam Plugins

Post by gradek » Wed Jul 27, 2011 15:35

Edwin, that would be very cool. Would this be in the form of an FFGL plugin?

Anyway to use the point cloud info to modify parameters in resolume?
Want to map LED rings with Resolume? Then look no further: https://goo.gl/f2dPGu

User avatar
Vjcheshire
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 09:42
Location: Los Angeles

Re: FreeFrame DepthCam Plugins

Post by Vjcheshire » Fri Aug 19, 2011 05:28

Installed... followed the directions. It shows up in my resolume as a source but... when loaded does nothing. If any one else has got this one working I would love to know how :)
Image

damstraversaz
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 09:39
Location: france

Re: FreeFrame DepthCam Plugins

Post by damstraversaz » Fri Aug 19, 2011 20:18

edwin wrote:I think the plugin only shows the depth image of the sensor, although this is fun to see it's not very usefull. We have some code lying around that renders a point cloud using the kinect openframeworks code. Maybe we can see if we can post it in the forum as a goodie...i will ask Dani, our OpenGl master ;-)

it will be great to have this !That's a very interesting feature for resolume, especially with 50 mask and trails

Damien
digital arts:
http://www.damientraversaz.com/#!art-numerique/c1s43
music for dance, documentary and digital arts:
http://www.damientraversaz.com/

chaos theory
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 02:31

Re: FreeFrame DepthCam Plugins

Post by chaos theory » Wed Oct 05, 2011 02:53

a freeframe point cloud to use with a kinect would be great.Id rush out and buy the kinect which isnt yet an definite purchase.

User avatar
Tryll
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 06:04

Re: FreeFrame DepthCam Plugins

Post by Tryll » Sun Oct 23, 2011 03:44

I'd be love to have the ability to use the kinect in Resolume as well. I'm on Mac(s) so it would be great to get one from Resolume that provided data rather than an image.

fruitygreen
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 08:52

Re: FreeFrame DepthCam Plugins

Post by fruitygreen » Sun Oct 23, 2011 08:31

Another way to get it into Resolume is via Quartz to Syphon to Resolume.

Kinda cumbersome but it works.

It would be nice to see more development in the effects and plugins area of Resolume.

EyeInfection
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 22:35

Re: FreeFrame DepthCam Plugins

Post by EyeInfection » Wed Nov 09, 2011 19:56

Just curious if anyone has tested this, its PC only at the moment.
fruitygreen wrote:Another way to get it into Resolume is via Quartz to Syphon to Resolume.

Kinda cumbersome but it works.

It would be nice to see more development in the effects and plugins area of Resolume.

User avatar
JERREM
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 17:43
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: FreeFrame DepthCam Plugins

Post by JERREM » Mon Nov 28, 2011 19:27

ive gotten the kinect running with openframeworks running a syphon server and resolume using the client ffgl plugin.. does the trick. thinking of writing a version that masks out people... so much potential...
I have a separate program that is sending OSC commands from kinect as well.. super fun.
http://www.jerrem.com
Artist, VJ & New Media Activist

Post Reply