Simple TouchOSC question

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Post Reply
crv74
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 20:36

Simple TouchOSC question

Post by crv74 »

I'm doing well with the ports and everything is going fine sending one command.

My question is simple: can i send 2 commands from a push button?

I only want to "kill" 2 layers at the same time...

/composition/layers/5/clear
/composition/layers/4/clear

like these 2 commands at once, but i can't get it working.

Thanks,

Carles

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4801
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Simple TouchOSC question

Post by Zoltán »

Maybe if you place 2 buttons on top of each other in the TouchOSC layout.

or as an alternative you could place 2 buttons next to each other, and use 2 fingers to push the two buttons simultaneously.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: Simple TouchOSC question

Post by edwin »

Or add the Layers to a Group and send a Group Clear message?

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Simple TouchOSC question

Post by Oaktown »

In TouchOSC you can send OSC, MIDI, and Key from one button at the same time.

As an alternative you could send MIDI and program both your Layer 4 & 5 to clear on the same note.

You could also use a third party interface such as Touch Designer to take one OSC command in and send two out.

crv74
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 20:36

Re: Simple TouchOSC question

Post by crv74 »

Thanks for the hints.

So in resume the answer is NO.

All other solutions are "dirty" ones.

Also 2 button one over the other don't work.
Even OSC + "key" is not working for me, but maybe i'm doing somethig wrong there...

So i put 2 buttons close enough ;)

Cheers, Carles
Last edited by crv74 on Fri Mar 16, 2018 16:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Simple TouchOSC question

Post by Oaktown »

So i can send the OSC and the "key" for the 2 command order.
Or just one OSC + one MIDI or any combination.

As a note you could send one Key and program both Layers to clear with the same key.

Don't forget to run TouchOSC Bridge on your host computer AND enable it in the controller,

crv74
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 20:36

Re: Simple TouchOSC question

Post by crv74 »

The send key alone is not working for me...

But i'll solve it with the 2 button close together, and figure aout what is wrong with the key send...
(with keyboard it works)

Thanks again!

Carles

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Simple TouchOSC question

Post by Oaktown »

If you want to use a Key command, don't forget to run TouchOSC Bridge on your host computer AND enable it in the controller. If you're having issues such as nothing is happening, check your firewall.

More about the TouchOSC Bridge at: https://hexler.net/docs/touchosc-getting-started-midi

crv74
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 20:36

Re: Simple TouchOSC question

Post by crv74 »

THAT was the thing.

Thanks a lot Oaktown!

Post Reply