Who knows an OSC sequencer?

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Rene
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

Who knows an OSC sequencer?

Post by Rene »

I guess the subject says it already:

I'm looking for a software which allows to set up some "building blocks", tracks, or clips (name it as you like) ;) and to arrange them in a timeline. Goal is to trigger clips/ effects and send envelopes for the paramets via OSC.

Are there (music) sequencer which do OSC out?

Anyone anything???

User avatar
gpvillamil
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 512
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 03:33
Location: San Francisco, California

Re: Who knows an OSC sequencer?

Post by gpvillamil »


VM_Nexus
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 00:35

Re: Who knows an OSC sequencer?

Post by VM_Nexus »

The link above is probably closer to what you want, but here is something really interesting you might consider as well: http://www.iannix.org/en/index.php

Shorties
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 22:09

Re: Who knows an OSC sequencer?

Post by Shorties »

VM_Nexus wrote:The link above is probably closer to what you want, but here is something really interesting you might consider as well: http://www.iannix.org/en/index.php

This is awesome, thanks for that link!

Rene
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Who knows an OSC sequencer?

Post by Rene »

Thanks a lot for your hints ;)
The step sequencer is not exactly what I'm looking for. But I have to admit, it's an OCS sequencer ;-) and a good starting point. However, I want to be able to 'compose' approx. 5 min on a timeline basis... like in Ableton Live
VM_Nexus wrote:The link above is probably closer to what you want, but here is something really interesting you might consider as well: http://www.iannix.org/en/index.php
This looks very promising, I will definitely have a closer look on that. Thanks!

User avatar
Stickygreen
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 21:33
Location: vancouver

Re: Who knows an OSC sequencer?

Post by Stickygreen »

down the bottom of IRworkshop's page you'll find some relevant stuff.

Shorties
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 22:09

Re: Who knows an OSC sequencer?

Post by Shorties »

Rene wrote:Thanks a lot for your hints ;)
The step sequencer is not exactly what I'm looking for. But I have to admit, it's an OCS sequencer ;-) and a good starting point. However, I want to be able to 'compose' approx. 5 min on a timeline basis... like in Ableton Live
VM_Nexus wrote:The link above is probably closer to what you want, but here is something really interesting you might consider as well: http://www.iannix.org/en/index.php
This looks very promising, I will definitely have a closer look on that. Thanks!

Couldn't you compose something on Ableton Live and output the midi signal, and associate those signals with the clips you are working with?

VM_Nexus
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 00:35

Re: Who knows an OSC sequencer?

Post by VM_Nexus »

Yeah, I've done similar things with Ableton Live... and they even have those max patches that will send OSC over wifi from Live to Resolume (http://www.resolume.com/blog/post.php?t=8717).

Something else you might look at if you're on OSX is Qlab (http://figure53.com/qlab/). It costs money and I think it only sends midi, but if you have to have OSC then you could use a translator like Osculator. (http://www.osculator.net/)

Rene
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Who knows an OSC sequencer?

Post by Rene »

Shorties, I've tried Live some time ago, but it was so hard to keep track of all curves and triggers. Did you use one MIDI clip and put all CCs and notes there, or per layer, per clip, per ? But one - not to underestimate - advantage of Live is of course the ability to record MIDI. So in theory, if everything is MIDI mapped in Resolume, you can record the whole show. Who tried that so far?
The advantage of OSC would be that (almost) every control in Resolume is "pre-mapped".

Is there a timeline in QLab? - I will have a look on that within the next days. Thanks VM_Nexsus!

I also tried Iannix and i think I will invest more time and give it a try. Please let me know in case somebody has some experience with Iannix and Resolume (or QLab and Resolume).

joffo
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 06:46

Re: Who knows an OSC sequencer?

Post by joffo »

hello
maybe you should have a look on this http://www.sensomusic.com/usine/
with the sequencer function Image
you can make a patch with osc control and put it on a timeline.

Post Reply