Support new codecs

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
User avatar
RycoDePsyco
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 20:17

Support new codecs

Post by RycoDePsyco »

Support new codecs

Codec: WebM VP8 and VP9 (much better picture, small file size)
Codec: mp4

It is sufficient if the codecs are supported
and it just plays.
Main codec is supported.

thx

ReggieUnderground
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 08:15

Re: Support new codecs

Post by ReggieUnderground »

These are bad formats for VJing. They are highly compressed and designed for web delivery, not rapid cueing and mixing.

User avatar
RycoDePsyco
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 20:17

Re: Support new codecs

Post by RycoDePsyco »

Yes I know.
It will only support play.


German:
Ja ich weis.
Es soll nur abspielen unterstützen.

User avatar
RycoDePsyco
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 20:17

Re: Support new codecs

Post by RycoDePsyco »

Image files such as:
jpeg, png, bmp, tiff, gif

Should also be supported as a single still image.

It's about the pure support.
The least the format can be played or displayed.


German:
Bilddateien wie zum Beispiel:
jpeg, png, bmp, tiff, gif
Sollte auch als einfaches Standbild unterstützt werden.

Es geht um die reine unterstützung.
Das wenigstens das Format, abgespielt oder angezeigt werden kann.

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Support new codecs

Post by cosmowe »

Did you ever tried to play a picturefile? :mrgreen:
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

User avatar
RycoDePsyco
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 20:17

Re: Support new codecs

Post by RycoDePsyco »

Sometimes you need just a still image.
Or set up an image to / from Resolume. I do not always use as a VJ software Resolume.
But also for a 360 ° view into a room as an image
(8-projectors Mapping -Arena ...).
Video must not be there.
Image would be better. Therefore, the implementation should be better.
A high degree of file support. PS:. Incidentally.
Resolume reports no indication when a file is not
supported or is missing a codec.
Again, could be improved.





German:
Manchmal braucht man nur ein Standbild.
Oder ein Bild zum einrichten/einstellen von Resolume.

Nicht immer verwende ich Resolume als VJ Software.
Sondern auch zur 360° Ansicht in ein Raum, als ein Bild (8 Projektoren-
Mapping- Arena…).
Video muss da nicht sein.
Bild wäre besser.

Daher sollte die Umsetzung besser werden.
Vor allem hohe Dateiunterstützung.

PS.: Nebenbei erwähnt.
Resolume meldet kein Hinweis wenn eine Datei nicht unterstützt wird oder ein Codec fehlt.
Auch hier könnte man verbessern.


Image

bildwerk
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:34
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Support new codecs

Post by bildwerk »

RycoDePsyco wrote:Image files such as:
jpeg, png, bmp, tiff, gif

Should also be supported as a single still image.

It's about the pure support.
The least the format can be played or displayed.
Pls try things out before posting.

Jpeg and png works, bmp, tiff and gif don't work, but i can imagine the reason therefore.

User avatar
lotech
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 21:45
Location: AKL, New Zealand

Re: Support new codecs

Post by lotech »

I completely agree with basic playback support for MP4s. I've been supplied files for PB too often that are MP4 and all I need Resolume to do is play the file - no FX, no layers - just play the damn thing.

Instead I have to take the file, recompress to DXV and often de-embed the audio so it'll play in sync. All could be solved by me being able to just play a MP4 file natively.

User avatar
RycoDePsyco
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 20:17

Re: Support new codecs

Post by RycoDePsyco »

I have pictures, and tested without success.
That's why I have written the proposal.
And there have now tested again.
And I noticed that Resolume does not take all jpeg images.
've Got a jpeg image that is not supported. ?

Image



German.
Ich habe Bilder, ohne Erfolg, getestet.
Deswegen habe ich hier den Vorschlag geschrieben.
Und habe es jetzt nochmals getestet.
Und mir ist aufgefallen, das Resolume nicht alle jpeg Bilder nimmt.
Habe hier ein jpeg-Bild, das wird nicht unterstützt. ???

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Support new codecs

Post by cosmowe »

Can you post this picture here? Just attach the file to your post.

Greetz
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

Post Reply