Clip random duration

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
skydeck
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 15:53

Re: Clip random duration

Post by skydeck »

basically what i want to do in autopilot mode is the following:

on one layer I am running a background-video or some live-feed from the party. This should be overlaid with some abstract clip-loops in the next layer, some effects being linked to audio fft. To avoid getting boring, the abstract clips should change, say every 30 seconds. So I would like to load that layer with any clips I choose, set their duration to 30 seconds and let autopilot random them through. I know I could pre-process the loops to 30 secs. length. But a duration setting would be so much easier and I have always been wondering why it isn"t there :D

User avatar
RycoDePsyco
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 20:17

Re: Clip random duration

Post by RycoDePsyco »

English:
Please let at autopilot "individual" or "all" Clips repeated several times before the next clip is playing.

Thank You


German:
Bitte bei Autopilot "einzelne" oder "alle" Clips mehrfach wiederholen lassen bevor der nächste Clip abgespielt wird.

Danke

User avatar
subpixel
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 09:32
Location: Sydney, AU

Re: Clip random duration

Post by subpixel »

I'd like to set the number of times a clip loops before autopilot action. Some loops are very short (one bar, maybe even one beat) and it is silly to have to render out a longer clip made of copies.

Another option I'd like to see is autopilot after a fixed duration (time or bars), eg every 30 seconds, independent of clip lengths.

Thirdly, I'd like to have a buttons for "one-shot" autopilot actions: previous, next, random. At the moment the only way to do it is turn on autopilot (forward, reverse, random) and subsequently turn off autopilot.

Sadler
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 23:55

Re: Clip random duration

Post by Sadler »

Here's a little processing sketch:

nClipLen is the length you want the clips to play for in seconds and nMaxClip is the number of clips you want to cycle through.

Code: Select all

// start OSC config
import oscP5.*;
import netP5.*;

/*portToListenTo, port we are listening on, this should be the same as
 the outgoing port of TouchOsc on your iphone
 */
int portToListenTo = 7001; 
/*portToSendTo, port we are sending to, this should be the same as
 the incomning port of Resolume 3, default it is set to 7000, so you wouldn't need to change it.
 */
int portToSendTo = 7000;
/*ipAddressToSendTo, ip address of the computer we are sending messages to (where Resolume 3 runs)
 */
String ipAddressToSendTo = "localhost";

OscP5 oscP5;
NetAddress myRemoteLocation;
OscBundle myBundle;
OscMessage myMessage;
//end OSC config

int nClip = 1;
int nClipLen = 5; //length of clips
int nMaxClip = 10;//number of clips to cycle through

String sAddress;

void setup() {
  frameRate(1);

  oscP5 = new OscP5(this, portToListenTo);
  myRemoteLocation = new NetAddress(ipAddressToSendTo, portToSendTo);  
  myBundle = new OscBundle();
  myMessage = new OscMessage("/");
}


void draw() {

  boolean send = false;
  int nSec = second();

  if (nClip > nMaxClip) {
    nClip = 1;
  }


  if (nSec % nClipLen == 0) {  
    sAddress = "/activelayer/clip" + str(nClip) + "/connect";
    println(sAddress);
    myMessage.setAddrPattern(sAddress);
    myMessage.add(1);
    myBundle.add(myMessage);
    myMessage.clear();

    nClip++;
    send = true;

    /* send the bundle*/
    if (send)
      oscP5.send(myBundle, myRemoteLocation); 

    myBundle.clear();
    
    //wait a sec
    while (nSec == second());
  }
}

carnzoid
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 14:58

Re: Clip random duration

Post by carnzoid »

subpixel wrote:I'd like to set the number of times a clip loops before autopilot action. Some loops are very short (one bar, maybe even one beat) and it is silly to have to render out a longer clip made of copies.

Another option I'd like to see is autopilot after a fixed duration (time or bars), eg every 30 seconds, independent of clip lengths.

Thirdly, I'd like to have a buttons for "one-shot" autopilot actions: previous, next, random. At the moment the only way to do it is turn on autopilot (forward, reverse, random) and subsequently turn off autopilot.
I would like to see this feature too! I always cut my loops to be as small and efficient possible. With the downside that they're very short when played with auto-pilot.

elgarf
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 05:52

Re: Clip random duration

Post by elgarf »

+1 for clip repeat number.

Post Reply