recording time

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
livpas
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 20:45

recording time

Post by livpas »

I needed some samples of the composition that were a specific length I found myself mentally counting seconds while recording clips and mixing. I'm thinking that having a counter displayed near or over the record button would be helpful for others who, like me, end up mixing the count.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2836
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: recording time

Post by Oaktown »

Why don’t you just record something longer and then adjust the timeline in and out for the new clip once you’ve done the recording?

I don’t know if the keyboard shortcuts I and O are part of the default keyboard mapping, but that’s what I personally use to streamline my workflow.

livpas
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 20:45

Re: recording time

Post by livpas »

Yes, there are many ways to skin a goat. This was meant for a specific time to be uploaded elsewhere with minimal intervention. Not a big issue to solve, just perhaps for convenience... say feature.

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1148
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: recording time

Post by edwin »

A counter showing how long you have been recording might indeed be quite helpful. Also setting a predetermined recording length (in seconds or beats) could be quite nice.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4575
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: recording time

Post by Zoltán »

beat snapped record start and stop could be also useful
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: recording time

Post by cosmowe »

I see .. here is growing something...... 8-)
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4575
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: recording time

Post by Zoltán »

cosmowe wrote:I see .. here is growing something...... 8-)
yeah, a contextual menu for the record button :D
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply