New MacBooks with M1 Processor

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Post Reply
bradgoehl
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 02:49
Location: Austin, TX

New MacBooks with M1 Processor

Post by bradgoehl »

Howdy All, Dose anyone know if Resolume will have an ARM M1 Proc MacBook compatable update at launch?

Online
User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2162
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Re: New MacBooks with M1 Processor

Post by bart »

No probably not, the Mac machines that are now coming out are not yet their high-end machines suitable for VJ-ing. But we will soon have access to a MacBook Air with the new M1 chip so we'll do more investigation soon.

theLABVisuals
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 03:28
Location: UK

Re: New MacBooks with M1 Processor

Post by theLABVisuals »

There was a talk about a new "Rosetta" virtualisation layer for the M1 processors (I think it was in their oh so grandeau speech (wassit called the apple (oh i dont know precisely #alcohol)) anyway, they showed an existing x86 application running within this new virtualisation layer and apparently frame rates etc were if not comparable to, but exceeded expectations.

I'll try to locate it on their video for all to question ...
Creativity, Imagination, Inspiration, Caffeine.
At least I can rely on one of them
http://www.thelabvisuals.co.uk/

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1394
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: New MacBooks with M1 Processor

Post by Arvol »

Well if you can get Resolume to work on a cell phone it might work on the new Mac's. The new chip is basically a glorified ARM chip is it not? I wouldn't even think about running visuals on anything that doesn't have at least 4 cores, 32gb of memory, a nvme drive and a 6GB GPU. Mac's are lucky to get those configuration right these days ;)

User avatar
JERREM
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 17:43
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: New MacBooks with M1 Processor

Post by JERREM »

I can confirm it runs on macbook pro 13" M1 with 8gb ram and 256gb ssd. Literally the first thing i installed 😉. I believe it is running with Rosetta 2 (intel emulation), the demo files run smooth at 60fps @ 1080p. Not bad so far.
I'll look for the thread on resolume benchmarking and make it sweat.
Attachments
1080p composition , 3 layers with effects, 60fps
1080p composition , 3 layers with effects, 60fps
http://www.jerrem.com
Artist, VJ & New Media Activist

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1394
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: New MacBooks with M1 Processor

Post by Arvol »

Would love for you to run the 4k "dirty" benchmark and see how many layers you can get before it drops below 60fps. There's been a few people asking.

User avatar
JERREM
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 17:43
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: New MacBooks with M1 Processor

Post by JERREM »

Im not sure what you mean by dirty? did you mean the files labelled "noise" woops didn't use those.
drops below pretty quick. - but still seems pretty impressive considering.

2020 MacBook Pro M1 w/8GB,256GB
4k composition, output to a single external 4k display, laptop screen(2880 x 1800) for UI.
using "clean" 4k files from benchmarks. 0 effects
1-6 layers 58-60fps
7 layers drops to 54fps, climbs back to 60fps in a 10 seconds
8 layers 58-60fps
9 layers 54fps, climbs back to 60fps in a 10 seconds
10 layers 52fps
17 layers 30fps
20 layers 26 fps

I add a couple of effects (delay rgb, fragment & fisheye)
20 layers 20fps
15 layers 25fps
10 layers 30fps
5 layers 38 fps
3 layers 45 fps

I did all of this unplugged. Im assuming the performance is the same when plugged into the wall.
http://www.jerrem.com
Artist, VJ & New Media Activist

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1394
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: New MacBooks with M1 Processor

Post by Arvol »

Yeah, i'm not interested in the clean files. The noisy files will be closer to real world files and would reflect the performance of a typical show. could you retest with those files?
Thanks

User avatar
JERREM
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 17:43
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: New MacBooks with M1 Processor

Post by JERREM »

60fps @ 7 layers of the noise 4k files. outputting at 4k external HDMI, composition @ 4k.

I haven't used Resolume intensively for years, so wondering how this stacks up? As this is under intel emulation not sure how stable it is. but hasn't crashed yet..
http://www.jerrem.com
Artist, VJ & New Media Activist

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1394
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: New MacBooks with M1 Processor

Post by Arvol »

According to the resolume benchmark spreadsheet that puts the gpu on par with a nvidia 980, which is honestly a lot better than i thought it would be. The m1 benchmarks i've seen have been slightly better than an integrated intel gpu, so this is very useful info to share. Thanks

Post Reply