Presenter Clicker

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Tecno`
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 15:27
Location: Northampton UK

Presenter Clicker

Post by Tecno` »

I am looking at the possibility of integrating a clicker with Resolume.

While I normally use Resolume for VJ type graphics to often to complex screens, sometimes I will need to show a speakers 'slides' on these screens. Having a hate for Powerpoint and needing to show these slides within a mapped composition, it would be nice to be able to set up a clicker from stage to advance to the next image in a layer.

Has anyone got a good solution and know of long range clickers that reach from the stage to the back of a fairly large venue?
Or do I need to create something to send a midi / OSC signal across a wireless network?

Thanks,

Tim

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: Presenter Clicker

Post by drazkers »

Touch OSC into bomes with a simple script would work easy via phone.

DayVeeJay
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 23:38
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Presenter Clicker

Post by DayVeeJay »

We did a project a few years back that used game pads to switch to a different clip. We used max to take commands from the game pad and send out osc

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Presenter Clicker

Post by cosmowe »

hmmm.... Use a standard clicker (PerfectCUE or just a Logitech Clicker)....then use a software like "Mouse Keyboard" from BOME. http://www.bome.com/products/mousekeyboard

You can route a mouse input to midi note....now it's mappable in resolume. This should do the job.


Greetz
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1148
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: Presenter Clicker

Post by edwin »

Once i actually build in support for the Apple Remote, i thinks that's in one of the old version 3 releases hidden away somewhere. But that's not of much use now of course....;-)

The arrow keys on your keyboard enable you to advance to the next/previous clip, so having a script that converts your 'clicker' to the right keys would do the trick.

Tecno`
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 15:27
Location: Northampton UK

Re: Presenter Clicker

Post by Tecno` »

Thanks for the replies.

It would seem I have turned off email notifications from this forum.

I guess clicker to midi is the way to go.
The main problem now is getting from stage to the computer as most clickers have a limited range.
I don't think phone software is the way forward for my use unfortunately, as this would need to be set up for a number of people. I would rather give them something with buttons.

Do the PageUp & PageDown buttons do anything in Resolume? (I haven't got my machine here to test with)
If not then maybe it could be a feature request to advance next / previous clip with these buttons? As these seem to be the keys that most clickers use.

Tim

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 757
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Presenter Clicker

Post by He2neg »

the Normal Logitec Cordless Presenter got a nice range.

Just use USB extension 1m and place the Stick on a good high spot (free line to the stage is perfect) and you can get around 20-30meters..

otherwise use usb / cat5 and take it near to the stage...
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Presenter Clicker

Post by cosmowe »

I worked very often with tools from "perfect cue"....they are quite expensive...but also absolute pro gear.
Many Event companys offers them for hire.

http://www.dsan.com/cuelights/PerfectCueMini.asp
http://www.dsan.com/cuelights/cuelights.asp
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

Tecno`
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 15:27
Location: Northampton UK

Re: Presenter Clicker

Post by Tecno` »

It looks like this Kensington clicker has the best range out there. 50M should work for me.
We shall see once it has a 1000 mobiles in the way...

http://www.ebuyer.com/406812-kensington ... l-k72426eu

Perfect Cue is slightly out of my price range!

I can't see how you can map the page up and down keys in Bome's Mouse Keyboard, maybe I am being a bit stupid?

Thanks again,

Tim

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 757
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Presenter Clicker

Post by He2neg »

as said... the Profesional Version is the Perfect Que Series

with the "normal" clickers ( usb stick & presenter) u can higher the Range with a cat5 to USB extender and move the Usb part near to the stage...
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Touch OSC / Lemur/ APC-40
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT@posteo.de~
~Berlin~

Post Reply