New PC Build

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Post Reply
jrosa1590
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 02:16

New PC Build

Post by jrosa1590 »

I am currently customizing a new Alienware PC. I guess my question is: Dose Resolume run mainly on your processor or is it better to upgrade the video card?

Thanks very much for any help or input!

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: New PC Build

Post by Oaktown »

It's a bit of both but a great GPU will take you a long way for sure. Keep in mind that Resolume is still a 32-bit software!

You'll find a lot of information & advice about various computer builds this on the forum and make sure you take a look at this post and thread where you'll find a link to a google spreadsheet with benchmark results with all the details.

Anothertom
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 17:02

Re: New PC Build

Post by Anothertom »

Processor - any recent i5 would be fine. if you're also doing video editing or running multiple demanding programs at once then look to go up to an i7. Don't fall for any low-power options (nothing that ends with T U or P)!

GPU - unless you're pushing a massive number of pixels you don't really need the latest or greatest. A GTX 1060 or RX470 / RX480 would be enough. (personally i run a r9 280x which is pretty much a four year old architecture and runs 2-3 1080p displays plus a control monitor easily)

RAM - while it's nice to have lots, unless you're running lots more than just resolume you won't need more than 8GB. 16GB is a good place to be for the future.

Unless you've convinced yourself that you must buy a dell, you're much better off building a pc yourself to get better price/performance. If you're not comfortable building a computer yourself look at something like pcsecialist.co.uk or other custom pc builders. They'll still be charging for building it but it's likely to be less than buying from Dell, HP... and you'll likely be able to afford better hardware.

jrosa1590
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 02:16

Re: New PC Build

Post by jrosa1590 »

Thanks for your feedback! No I am not set on Dell... I am just not able to build my own comp...

Thanks again!

Digitrevx
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 18:16

Re: New PC Build

Post by Digitrevx »

One of our mini towers for travel has a i3 in it. Considering Resolume doesn't use multible cores as far as I know it makes no difference if it's a i3-i5-i3 so long as the clock speed is good. My experiences so far with the i3 matches what we know.

The benifit of a stronger multi thread cpu is if you use it for content creation such as rendering new footage to be used for your vj projects.
The other benifit of a stronger cpu is preventing gpu bottlenecks. However once over 100fps nobody cares about how much your cpu is bottlenecking.
The i3 I mentioned bottlenecks a 5gflop gpu at 140fps which well exceeds the fps of the video content being played.

The biggest difference any components have made for Resolume is the video card obviously but the fastest HD's on the market. Pci-e M.2 HD's. Launch 10 layers at the same time? No problem!

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5185
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: New PC Build

Post by Joris »

Digitrevx wrote:The i3 I mentioned bottlenecks a 5gflop gpu at 140fps which well exceeds the fps of the video content being played.
I'm curious what you base this on?

The reason I ask is that VJ'ing is different from regular gaming use, and statistics on how VJ'ing taxes a system are pretty much non-existent.

VJ'ing is essentially uploading a texture and displaying it on a rectangle. So there is a lot more texture data being uploaded to the GPU than in an average game. When getting to very high resolutions, the GPU is not doing that much more work. There simply aren't that many more rectangles to draw. But the increase in texture data uploaded is a lot more. And guess who's responsible for uploading texture data to the GPU?

Post Reply