iMac pro.. 11520x2160

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Post Reply
SiNiSon
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 07:15

iMac pro.. 11520x2160

Post by SiNiSon »

In case it's of any interest.. recently built an installation using an iMac Pro feeding 3 x 4K video walls made up of 3x3 55in panels running as one continuous screen at 11520x2160.

Works like a dream.. had 9 layers of varying elements from 1280 to 4k without even a blip to the machine..

Expensive but seems to have lots a room to push the hardware..

S

VisualsOnSound
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 12:45

Re: iMac pro.. 11520x2160

Post by VisualsOnSound »

I'm currently working on a composition of 6432 x 1920 @ 25 FPS using lots of slices for mapping ... My FPS are dropping really fast using only a couple of layers (even if I downsize these). Just wondering how many layers (full comp resolution) you can run at these specs before the dropping begins ...

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: iMac pro.. 11520x2160

Post by drazkers »

VisualsOnSound wrote:I'm currently working on a composition of 6432 x 1920 @ 25 FPS using lots of slices for mapping ... My FPS are dropping really fast using only a couple of layers (even if I downsize these). Just wondering how many layers (full comp resolution) you can run at these specs before the dropping begins ...
The key point is that OP is using content all over the place from 1280x720 up to 4K, already you're interesting aspect ration is gonna be harder on the machine.

I'd like to see this imac pro push out some native content of 11520x2160. Resolume is pretty effcient when your composition or content is pretty small.

jre
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 19:11

Re: iMac pro.. 11520x2160

Post by jre »

Hey guys


How are your iMac Pros holding up with Resolume? How many outputs/layers/ comp size?

SiNiSon
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 07:15

Re: iMac pro.. 11520x2160

Post by SiNiSon »

drazkers wrote:
Sat Apr 14, 2018 16:20
VisualsOnSound wrote:I'm currently working on a composition of 6432 x 1920 @ 25 FPS using lots of slices for mapping ... My FPS are dropping really fast using only a couple of layers (even if I downsize these). Just wondering how many layers (full comp resolution) you can run at these specs before the dropping begins ...
The key point is that OP is using content all over the place from 1280x720 up to 4K, already you're interesting aspect ration is gonna be harder on the machine.

I'd like to see this imac pro push out some native content of 11520x2160. Resolume is pretty effcient when your composition or content is pretty small.
Our base layer is 11520x2160 movie.. and on top goes all the parts in all kinds of resolutions and sizes..

The work is now out.. if you watch the second season of the CBS show Salvation its the large war room screen in the show.

S

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1148
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: iMac pro.. 11520x2160

Post by edwin »

Cool, so Resolume is used for a TV Series! Always nice to hear where Resolume is used, any chance we can get to see a photo of the studio set?

jre
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 19:11

Re: iMac pro.. 11520x2160

Post by jre »

SiNiSon wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 00:52
drazkers wrote:
Sat Apr 14, 2018 16:20
VisualsOnSound wrote:I'm currently working on a composition of 6432 x 1920 @ 25 FPS using lots of slices for mapping ... My FPS are dropping really fast using only a couple of layers (even if I downsize these). Just wondering how many layers (full comp resolution) you can run at these specs before the dropping begins ...
The key point is that OP is using content all over the place from 1280x720 up to 4K, already you're interesting aspect ration is gonna be harder on the machine.

I'd like to see this imac pro push out some native content of 11520x2160. Resolume is pretty effcient when your composition or content is pretty small.
Our base layer is 11520x2160 movie.. and on top goes all the parts in all kinds of resolutions and sizes..

The work is now out.. if you watch the second season of the CBS show Salvation its the large war room screen in the show.

S
Are you doing much scaling/layering/slicing? How are your fps at 11520x2160/iMacPro?

SiNiSon
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 07:15

Re: iMac pro.. 11520x2160

Post by SiNiSon »

In film tv land we cap out at 24fps (we build in the workflow framerate of post so if they need our animations for vfx or editorial it is the same framerate as the show)

Having said that yes we did a little bit of slicing for the main monitors and slices out a BM Decklink to other monitors on set as well as scaling lots of overlay elements with no performance issues.

S

Post Reply