Can u share a midi controller with 2 pc`s??

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Post Reply
error404
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 10:48
Location: Malta - EU

Can u share a midi controller with 2 pc`s??

Post by error404 »

Is it possible to share a midi controller with 2 computers?

komar
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:10
Location: France

Post by komar »

yes yu can !
depending the controller, you'll have to use a MIDI splitter or not
e.g : yu don't need that with a BCF but you will with a Pocket Dial

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Post by mfo »

Why don't you need this with a BCF?
I have the BCR2000 and want to connect it with 2 computers. i was hoping to use the usb for comp 1 and the midi out for comp 2. But unfortunately in none of the working modes of the BCR the MIDI-signals are put out via usb AND via midi.

komar
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:10
Location: France

Post by komar »

i guess if yo use Stand alone 1 , you'll have to use 2 midi in instead of 1 midi+1 usb

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Post by mfo »

this could work.
but i need to buy another midi-to-usb converter, which means extra costs ....

[Edited on 30-5-2005 by mfo]

asbach
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 09:57

Post by asbach »

there is a "simple" curcuit (which you can build on a breadboard) with a midi in and more midi Out's. i have to draw it (so everyone can read it), and will post it here, if i'm done.

User avatar
VJair
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 21:23
Location: Kent - UK

Post by VJair »

the other day, i found that i could do this with my evolution UC33e.
plug the usb into on pc and the midi out to the other and you can control both pc's at the same time. only thing was, i couldnt get the UC33e to allow the MIDI OUT to function as a MIDI THRU, so its back to the midi patchbay for me.....

mfo
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48

Post by mfo »

i've found a way to do this with my behringer bcr2000. it's a bit abstruse, but it works.


all midi signals are send to 1st comp by usb. there is midiOX running and sending all signals back to the bcr2000 (still by usb).
in usb-modes 2 and 3 (using midi IO's as midi interface) those signals, which are input for the bcr2000, are send to the midi out, thus i can send them to the 2nd comp. Voila, the signals are send to 2 comps! (And can be used in both.)

Post Reply