Computer with 4 or 6 4K outputs

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Post Reply
crv74
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 20:36

Computer with 4 or 6 4K outputs

Post by crv74 » Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:53

Hi there,

i know there are some proposed and working builds, but i'd like a "fast" response for a build in a month for a computer for 4 or 6 4K outputs (if it can go to 7 it's ok but will never happen;).

There is a budget so dropping in 2x RTX4000 its not an issue, but i know that some expert are more aware than me on PCI lanes and so...

Just a simple i9 9900k, Recommended MB, 64/32 Gb RAM quad channel, 2 Tb SSD Raid 0, 2x RTX4000... can help.

Thanks in advance,

Carles

Snoxxx
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 09:20

Re: Computer with 4 or 6 4K outputs

Post by Snoxxx » Wed Sep 25, 2019 23:12

Hi, I'm not the best to answer but it interested me too. (How much do you want to fps? 60?)

i9 9900k are 16lanes processor, you can go x8/x8 but you nerfed your GPUs (don't know how much) but it's powerfull processor.
You can look series X for more lane (series 10 comming soon)

Ram for i9 9900k are dual channel

For GPUs i don't know if QuadroRTX 4000 (2034cc/8G) are best (for Resolume / sync) than RTX 2080s (3072cc/8G) or 2080Ti (4352cc /11G)
And can output (3)4x 4k per GPU? in x8?

And for the bandwidth of the ssd how much you need to read 7x 4k? I think good m.2 are minimum, maybe 3, one systeme and 2 for alternate media, maybe more? (PCI 4.0? and care M.2 consumes PCI lane too)
Or better way are 2 Computer 4x4k and sync?

Maybe someone with a big Resolume can answer?

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2817
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Computer with 4 or 6 4K outputs

Post by Oaktown » Thu Sep 26, 2019 01:14

crv74, can you describe your need for 5-6 4K outputs in more details?

crv74
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 20:36

Re: Computer with 4 or 6 4K outputs

Post by crv74 » Thu Sep 26, 2019 10:16

Hi Oaktown,

the machine must be able to play 4 or 6 6k sources mapped to a walls with blending on some of them. No more no less than that. Initial request is 4 outputs, i wanna manage the worst scenario when they add 2 or 3 more (never more that 8, when 1 is already the control monitor)

(i am "fighting vs a Watchout configuration" and just want to prove that Resolume i way better for this purpose ;) But maybe i'm wrong.

Thanks!

Carles

crv74
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 20:36

Re: Computer with 4 or 6 4K outputs

Post by crv74 » Thu Sep 26, 2019 10:26

Snoxxx wrote:
Wed Sep 25, 2019 23:12
Hi, I'm not the best to answer but it interested me too. (How much do you want to fps? 60?)

i9 9900k are 16lanes processor, you can go x8/x8 but you nerfed your GPUs (don't know how much) but it's powerfull processor.
You can look series X for more lane (series 10 comming soon)

Ram for i9 9900k are dual channel

For GPUs i don't know if QuadroRTX 4000 (2034cc/8G) are best (for Resolume / sync) than RTX 2080s (3072cc/8G) or 2080Ti (4352cc /11G)
And can output (3)4x 4k per GPU? in x8?

And for the bandwidth of the ssd how much you need to read 7x 4k? I think good m.2 are minimum, maybe 3, one systeme and 2 for alternate media, maybe more? (PCI 4.0? and care M.2 consumes PCI lane too)
Or better way are 2 Computer 4x4k and sync?

Maybe someone with a big Resolume can answer?
I could go with an i9 9900X with 44 PCI lanes or with a AMD TR 2920X with 64, no problem on that.

I think for the playing bandwith maybe a raid 0 of 3 SSDs i enough, but if not, the MB for AMD X399 Can have 3 M2 on and has a PCI expansion for 4 M2 more, so those in RAID 0 can have pretty fast Read speeds...
(i have already this machine as my main workstation/mediaserver and it's a beast (2x M2 Raid0 1Tb, 2x SSD Raid 0 2Tb, 1 M2 for system, 32 Gb RAM quad channel (4x8GB sticks))

I prefer always Quadro series for the Sync2 and better syncing of different cards outputs (thing that any GTX nor RTX does).

Thanks, i'll keep investigating the best option.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2817
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Computer with 4 or 6 4K outputs

Post by Oaktown » Thu Sep 26, 2019 16:49

Funny you say that because I just sold 4 Watchout 6 keys a few weeks ago. I never used them because I do just about everything with Arena!

Would you be able to split your load onto two servers either controlled from a MIDI controller, lighting desk (such GrandMA) or using the built-in OSC master/slave function?
crv74 wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 10:16
Hi Oaktown,

the machine must be able to play 4 or 6 6k sources mapped to a walls with blending on some of them. No more no less than that. Initial request is 4 outputs, i wanna manage the worst scenario when they add 2 or 3 more (never more that 8, when 1 is already the control monitor)

(i am "fighting vs a Watchout configuration" and just want to prove that Resolume i way better for this purpose ;) But maybe i'm wrong.

Thanks!

Carles

crv74
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 20:36

Re: Computer with 4 or 6 4K outputs

Post by crv74 » Thu Sep 26, 2019 17:14

Arena > WO (but shhhh ;)

I am triying to do it with one Mediaserver/machine (since in the head of the client there is "1 watchout is 4 outputs" thing...)

Let's see if i can build a nice PC for that... i am estimating over 6000 euros or so, but that is ok.

Any concrete specs/brand/model items?

Thansk again!

Carles

Post Reply