Nvidia 3080 or 3090

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Post Reply
Infinite137
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:39

Nvidia 3080 or 3090

Post by Infinite137 »

3080 and 3090

Someone has tried them with Resolume?

they're doing well?

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1595
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Nvidia 3080 or 3090

Post by Arvol »

What are your shows needs? How many pixels are you needing pushed?
To put things in perspective, a 3070 is essentially the same thing as a 2080ti, Is a 2080ti not enough horsepower for your shows?

I've ran most large festivals on a 6GB 1060 without any issues, My 2080 Max-Q is doing about as well as my 1060 did for Resolume. I haven't had the need for any 8K shows yet.

What environments are you working in?

Infinite137
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:39

Re: Nvidia 3080 or 3090

Post by Infinite137 »

70 layers.

Five outputs SDI HD

Seven SDI IN HD

Black magic Quad2 and Datapath out

Ten NDI decoder

Four play media HD

Canvas 5760x2160 pixels

50 FPS

With 1080TI 11GB, I7 9800X, 32 GB RAM, only 20 FPS now

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1595
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Nvidia 3080 or 3090

Post by Arvol »

70 Layers? What are you running and why!?

The only thing on your list other than your layer count that is GPU related is:
Four play media HD
Canvas 5760x2160 pixels

My GTX1060 can do those two things.

All of your I/O's will be CPU heavy, Especially those NDI steams.

Infinite137
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:39

Re: Nvidia 3080 o 3090

Post by Infinite137 »

As a broascast production control room HD.

With its multiviewer, media players, video mixer, tallys, two DSKs, and multi windows with dynamic movements

Similar to VMix o tricaster IP, with its advantages and disadvantages with respect to these

Two people to manipulate

Two midi controllers and an elgato streamdck


REsolume accepts tips to improve the application for these uses?


I could make a long list of recommendations

User avatar
AngeloDV
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 08:19
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Nvidia 3080 or 3090

Post by AngeloDV »

I love Resolume but seeing that list makes me wonder why you would want to use Resolume in that environment :)
Image

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1595
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Nvidia 3080 or 3090

Post by Arvol »

The only thing you would need.to keep in mind is your PCIe lane count that your CPU can handle. With that many I/O's you're going to run out of I/O pretty quick.
After buying a multi Xeon setup, your I/O cards. There might be a better solution out there as Angelo has brought up.
I'm all for using Resolume in any aspect of my production that I can. But this might be a good time to write down a pros and cons list. Including price and what people ask for when renting out gear and see if going this route is the right option.

Can Resolume do it? totally. Will you be the only person who knows how to get your frankenstein setup to work? Probably.

I'm here to help if you need it :)

Infinite137
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 12:39

Re: Nvidia 3080 or 3090

Post by Infinite137 »

I have tried many hardware configurations.

I'm clear on what you're saying. So as a minimum requirement must be a processor I7-9800X with its 44 lanes.

The ASUS SAGE x299 is the best power-to-price ratio I have found. With the 9800X allows three PCIE 3.0 x16 without funnel effect or as it is said metaphorically in English.

Problem is that what I added before as requirements would be ideal. Still the graphics don't allow that, at least that's what I think.

For now I restrict myself in the specifications to make it work. But I hope that before the end of the year with the power of a 3090 and its 24 GB GRAM I can get it.


Features that I think are necessary in Resolume. To be able to compete with VMIX

- Some easy solution for Tally. For now I have invented a wireless DMX for the Resolume

- NDI with audio for encoding.

- NDI with Discovery Server support

- A small mixer or audio router that you can link to different outputs. Not just one output like now. And you can embedded in the SDI outs

- An auto-dissolve between the effects of two sources with the same loaded effects but with different values like Sony, Grass Valley, Ross, Snell mixer broadcast. It would save you to make complex keyframes

- Associate two layers to simulate an A/B bus.

I could continue but I stop now

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1595
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Nvidia 3080 or 3090

Post by Arvol »

Most of what you're doing sounds like it is going to be cpu heavy not gpu. If you go with a multi cpu Xeon you can get more PCIe lanes.

If you're playing 25 4k clips at a time. The current 20 series gpus can handle that. So any route you go on the 30 series is just extra icing on the cake. Personally I don't the the 3090 is worth the money if you're just using it for resolume. Of you're working with redshift or octane then yeah, that could be a nice gpu.

Unfortunately resolume is not very big into the audio realm of things. Which personally I love and slight hate lol. It's really nice to delicate all the other audio crap people try to randomly throw at me last min in a show over to the audio department and firmly tell them that I do video not audio. But there are also shows where I would like 3-4 outputs and not just 2. I know it has been requested. But for your setup with tally needs and multisource audio routing. A trickster seems like a good solution. You could do some work in some third-party apps to do your multisource audio and bring it into resolume. But this build already seems complex enough and troubleshooting that on top of your current build during a show would seem like a nightmare

Post Reply