New MacBook for R3?

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Rene
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

New MacBook for R3?

Post by Rene »

Hi!

Just a quick question. Will Resolume 3 run on the new (non Pro) MacBook?
http://www.apple.com/macbook/specs.html

Tech Spec says: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics processor with 256MB of DDR3 SDRAM shared with main memory

User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2152
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Re: New MacBook for R3?

Post by bart »

Yes we have tested Resolume 3 on the new MacBook and it runs fine.

Note that it does not have a tv-out anymore so you,ll need to buy a scanconverter that does vga to s-video/composite if you want to connect it to a video mixer.

Rene
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: New MacBook for R3?

Post by Rene »

perfect! - Thanks for the info. I've noticed already that apple kicked the s-video out :evil: bad guys! - however a scan converter will do the job (or better: the new V8 - sometime) ;)

near
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 11:27

Re: New MacBook for R3?

Post by near »

does anybody know if a cable like this :

Image

(plus the Displayport to vga adaptor from Apple) will do the job when using the new MacBook?
or do I really need a scan converter?

thanks in advance :-)

Rene
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: New MacBook for R3?

Post by Rene »

near wrote:does anybody know if a cable like this :

Image
(plus the Displayport to vga adaptor from Apple) will do the job when using the new MacBook?
or do I really need a scan converter?
doesn't seem to work...
http://discussions.apple.com/message.js ... ID=8346023

incuf
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 05:32

Re: New MacBook for R3?

Post by incuf »

what about the mini display-DVI adaptor, and the DVI-video adaptor. anybody knows if this will work?

My Macbook pro has been stolen, and I'm thinking in getting a new macbook instead. performance?


cheers


Incuf


www.myspace.com/eyeburner

nwonknu
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 17:20

Re: New MacBook for R3?

Post by nwonknu »

only scan converter works

moorooduc
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 20:58

Re: New MacBook for R3?

Post by moorooduc »

has anybody tried out the new MBP with resolume3 over a long time??

i haven't used it yet with R3, but i am wondering how hot your MBP gets. i noticed that the left corner of the MBP (close to its screen) gets fairly hot when doing intensive work, like rending a video. however, it cools down quickly too after a render job.

i am just wondering what happens when running the MBP maxium power over a longer period (4-5hours)?? would anyone recommend using one of these? or is the heat nothing to worry about??

VJNYC
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 23:18

Re: New MacBook for R3?

Post by VJNYC »

Really a scan converter is needed? Why can't the minidvi adapter be used? I was told at tekserve that the mini display adapter would work but he didn't have anything to show it to me on.

faza
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 16:02

Re: New MacBook for R3?

Post by faza »

has anyone tried to connect matrox dualhaed to go to the new macbook pro . Is the graphic card going to be compatible with the mini display adapter ???
MBP 2,4Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Post Reply