very slow on inspiron 8200 w/ 64mb geforce 4

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
waxhopper_

Post by waxhopper_ »

i tried all the suggestions... am using a single 80kb avi keyframed right, first display at 1024x768x16, second one a tv out to the projector, and it's unusably slow on the projector.

what's all this business about switching the first/second displays... does it even apply to a laptop?

when i do everything on one display, of course, it's lightning fast. i just bought my key thinking that's the output performance i'd be getting and would appreciate advice or a hearty promise that 1.1 solves this issue completely.

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Post by edwin »

1.1. does solve the speed problems. We are now working our asses off to get it online as soon as possible. But fever struck our studio so work was delayed.
Anyway, dual screen will work fine in version 1.1.

waxhopper_

Post by waxhopper_ »

ah that's some good news. there were a couple things i wanted to ask about backward compatibility... just so i don't waste too much time preparing clips/decks with 1.0:

1) should we stick with cinepak, 320x240 etc. or is there a new favorite/another option with 1.1?

2) will the deck files generated by 1.0 be loadable in 1.1 without any problems?

3) will usb midi be healthy again?

3) will 1.1 be ready by 4/25?... that's the next big gig. :)

thanks!

User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2164
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Post by bart »

1) yes stick to Cinepak

2) yes we are striving for backwards compatibility but we are not going to delay our release if it takes us a week to program this ... hope you alse prefer a faster release over backwards compatibility

3) USB midi is healthy on all the computers we tested it on (even on my Sony Vaio where most of the problems occurred) we need a test computer where usb midi does not work in order to test and fix it ... without a non working usb midi computer we can,t do anything ;-(

4) thats in a week!!! so probably not ... we,re really sorry about this guys ...

waxhopper_

Post by waxhopper_ »

yeah faster is better... no question... redecking is probably good for the garden anyway...

if you need a test machine for usb midi i'll offer mine. it's the one described in the topic line, doesn't work in 1.0 but does work in other apps. i know you wouldn't be able to debug, but you might sleep better, eh?

User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2164
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Post by bart »

we have access to an inspiron 8100 and on that machine it all works fine ...

where are you situated? anywhere near The Hague, The Netherlands? ;-)

or maybee you are going to this VJ event on the 26th of May in London?

ether_

Post by ether_ »

Hi there
just been following your threads....

i'm finding indeo5.1 avi is a much better codec than cinepak - similar file sizes, keyframeable, but much better quality

good luck

ether - warpTV

PS. - keep up the good work Bart and Ed - i know we're a demanding bunch of users but we're all right behind you (i hope!!)

waxhopper_

Post by waxhopper_ »

sorry for being obtuse, but by "works fine" you mean "didn't work in 1.0 but does now work in pre-1.1" right? :) i guess my question is - is there any reason to think that a system w/out working usb midi in 1.0 might work in 1.1?

this whining is coming from berkeley, ca where people haven't heard of resolume, among other things... ;)

thanks again

User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2164
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Post by bart »

no we have not changed anything on the midi code except making more features midi triggerable ... (is that is correct english?) ;-)

waxhopper_

Post by waxhopper_ »

ahem :) i know you've been asked to put lots into 1.1 (are transparency modes triggerable now? that'd be sweet). but all would be lost if the usb midi didn't work (for me, of course). any way you could add a "look really freakin hard for that controller" button to the midi dialog? usa needs its midi too! ;)

Post Reply