midi controlling advanced output

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
oli sorenson
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 02:54

midi controlling advanced output

Post by oli sorenson » Sun Mar 19, 2017 03:01

Hi peeps,

is it possible to control any of the advanced output features with midi, or even key maps ?

for now, I would simply like to toggle on and off some screen slices
just by pressing a button
without going into the advanced output window every time...

thanks ! Oli

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3743
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: midi controlling advanced output

Post by Zoltán » Sun Mar 19, 2017 17:26

there is no midi control for the advanced output.

why don't you toggle the content that is playing on those slices?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
Yuckfou157
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 16:02

Re: midi controlling advanced output

Post by Yuckfou157 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 09:28

+1

I don't need it really often but in some cases it would be really handy if you have some routing/muting system kinda like pro audiomixers have, just select the slices you want to toggle and group them to a midi button so you don't have to go to the advanced output and select all, toggle them, go back to your main screen etc.
http://www.spikkelpaard.nl :mrgreen: Razer Blade - MBP - Arena 6 - Avenue 6 - Chaser - Showkontrol Live - APC40MKII - Novation Launchcontrol XL

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1058
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: midi controlling advanced output

Post by Arvol » Tue Mar 28, 2017 22:44

Workaround: Syphon output into Mad Mapper.

Would love this feature added in the future.

oli sorenson
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 02:54

Re: midi controlling advanced output

Post by oli sorenson » Sun Apr 16, 2017 03:32

yeah that a $200 work around...

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3743
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: midi controlling advanced output

Post by Zoltán » Sun Apr 16, 2017 09:41

layer routers can have the benefit of making the texture of a layer available in a separate layer, which you can then route to a slice.
layer router clips can have different input sources, so by switching layer router in a layer, you can switch different layers to the same slice, and ejecting all clips in this slice routed layer will clear the slice too.
this you can assign to midi.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1058
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: midi controlling advanced output

Post by Arvol » Mon Apr 17, 2017 17:27

You can also use Chaser. Not a free work around but a work around.

User avatar
4eyes
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 03:50

Re: midi controlling advanced output

Post by 4eyes » Sat May 06, 2017 01:28

oli sorenson wrote: I would simply like to toggle on and off some screen slices
just by pressing a button
without going into the advanced output window every time...
My current workaround for this:
1. Create a layer at the bottom of your composition with one Solid Color clip set to black.
2. In advanced output layer route that layer to some slices that cover the surfaces you want to turn off.
3. Toggle the clip on and off (lots of ways to do this).
4. If you want to get fancy, use some effects to slide the black clip around or scale it and strategically grab 1x1 pixel slices to cover the areas you want to turn off. Allows you to use one layer to turn off different arrangements of slices.

Cheers,

Post Reply