Problem getting the soft edge just right

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
looperhacks
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:58

Problem getting the soft edge just right

Post by looperhacks » Wed Jan 09, 2019 21:42

We are running a setup that consists of an extra wide screen that uses two edge blended beamers. It's been running for some months, but I never managed to really configure the soft edge to look nice. There was always the problem that the overlapping area was too bright and we fixed it by lowering the overall brightness of the beamers - resulting in a really bad image.

So I started to play around with the Black Level Compensation but I can't get to an acceptable image. A dark image causes the non-overlapping area to appear brighter than the overlapping area, so I think that I over corrected the black level. But a bright image makes the overlapping area appear brighter! I don't know what I'm doing wrong or how I should configure the values. I attached two example images of the screen. How should I configure the soft edge so a uniform image is shown, no matter what image is displayed?
IMG_20190106_115230.jpg
IMG_20190106_115255.jpg

deepvisual
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 15:49

Re: Problem getting the soft edge just right

Post by deepvisual » Thu Jan 10, 2019 06:56

have you clicked the radio button?

Image
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-10 at 05.54.57.png

looperhacks
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:58

Re: Problem getting the soft edge just right

Post by looperhacks » Thu Jan 10, 2019 14:58

Yes, I configured the soft edge. Can't show the settings atm because I'm not at the computer, but I'll update it asap

looperhacks
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:58

Re: Problem getting the soft edge just right

Post by looperhacks » Thu Jan 10, 2019 17:43

Here are the output settings
right.png
left.png

deepvisual
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 15:49

Re: Problem getting the soft edge just right

Post by deepvisual » Fri Jan 11, 2019 00:14

it looks like the problem is with your slices.
from the pictures you have posted, most of your slice is off the canvas.
your slices need to overlap for the soft edge to work.
maybe start again.

here is a line up I made for my own work
the overlaps are highlighted to make lining up slices in resolume easier.
Attachments
3456 1080 blend.jpg

deepvisual
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 15:49

Re: Problem getting the soft edge just right

Post by deepvisual » Fri Jan 11, 2019 00:19

it should look like this on the input
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-10 at 23.18.29.png
Screen Shot 2019-01-10 at 23.19.06.png

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2739
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Problem getting the soft edge just right

Post by Oaktown » Fri Jan 11, 2019 02:00

I think the issue is that the Black Level Compensation is set to 0.25 for RGB channels in both slices.

looperhacks
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 10:58

Re: Problem getting the soft edge just right

Post by looperhacks » Sun Jan 13, 2019 09:22

@deepvisual: The slices do overlap. My pictures are made from the "Output Transformation"-Tab, yours from the Input Selection. My Input selection looks like this:
input.png
@Oaktown: I don't understand - If I change the Compensation on one side, the other wouldn't change, but the problem is on both sides?

deepvisual
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 15:49

Re: Problem getting the soft edge just right

Post by deepvisual » Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:54

Ok.

So it looks like your power settings are way too low.
try resetting gamma to 1, luminance to 0.5 and power to 2.
sliding the power up will make the blend darker.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2739
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Problem getting the soft edge just right

Post by Oaktown » Sun Jan 13, 2019 15:10

My recommendation would be to get every blend parameter for both slices back to default then make adjustments as needed.

Post Reply