Apply opacity with blend mode on clip level

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
User avatar
Grimm90
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 19:08

Apply opacity with blend mode on clip level

Post by Grimm90 »

Hi ,

If you put a clip on a specific blend mode , lets say Difference I, and you change the opacity of that clip on the clip itself , it's not the same result as when you put the layer to Difference I and change the opacity of the layer.

Maybe i'm doing something wrong here and i'm not sure this belongs in feature request.

I would like to be able to set opacity levels on specific clips together with the blend mode , so the clip would blend in the same way as it would when using the layer blend modes & opacity slider.

So when these clips are auto piloting , i don't need to change the layer opacity manually to get the look i want.
Thx!
1.png
1.png (28.83 KiB) Viewed 3288 times

User avatar
francoe
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 23:30

Re: Apply opacity with blend mode on clip level

Post by francoe »

It's a great thing to have an opacity control at clip level, independent and not linked to layer blending.
You're asking for a layer blending value based on clip settings.
Like saying ..

Opacity: 100%
Blend Mode: Difference I - Value: 37%

User avatar
Grimm90
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 19:08

Re: Apply opacity with blend mode on clip level

Post by Grimm90 »

err kinda , you can set the opacity of a clip independently , thats correct , but the blend mode applied on that clip doesn't behave to it.

Clip Opacity 50%
Blende mode : Difference I

Should have the same result as Clip opacity at 100% , and layer set to difference I and 50% opacity.

But now it's not, it looks like an alpha blend.
The layer blend mode changed to Difference I* , but as the layer is still at 100% opacity and not affected by the cliip opacity setting , it doesn't work as expected to me at least.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4462
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Apply opacity with blend mode on clip level

Post by Zoltán »

Grimm90 wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 12:27
Clip Opacity 50%
Blende mode : Difference I
Should have the same result as Clip opacity at 100% , and layer set to difference I and 50% opacity.
Not really, the Layer blend slider's position controls the blending directly. There are more things going on in a layer blend.

Most layer blends at 50% do 100%of the bottom texture and 100% of the current layer texture blending together with the specified blend.
Then when you move the slider up to 100% the blend turns into an Alpha blend of the layer gradually.
https://resolume.com/support/en/layers#types-of-blends

So Clip Opacity 50%, layer Blend mode : Difference I, at 50%
will have the same result as Clip opacity at 100% , and layer set to difference I and 25% opacity.
Image
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
Grimm90
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 19:08

Re: Apply opacity with blend mode on clip level

Post by Grimm90 »

Been trying it , and you are correct.
But for me it doesn't help with a practical issue that i would like to have a layer autopilot through clips and achieve a certain blend mode look only achievable at this or that % of layer opacity.
So the clip can have its own blend mode & opacity , but i still need to manually adjust the layer opacity.

Now with the last update i can select 50 difference, and that actually solves my issue, as the layer can stay at 100% and clips set to this mode will have the difference look i want ( & who now soon a difference I too ? :D )

Post Reply