LED Controllers Sync and Resolume

Bro, does your rig even lift?
pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 639
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

LED Controllers Sync and Resolume

Post by pfelberg » Sat Mar 18, 2017 13:46

A couple of buddies came to me asking for help on this.
Let´s say you have one single clip playing from Arena and you have two diffrent outputs, each one connected to a LED controller. They ar pretty much the same, but they usually get ot of sync.
I already told them this is nothing related to Resolume Arena, but the LED Controllers.
Have anyone experienced such thing and what could be done to keep LED panels on sync?
Thanks

Paulo

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 3817
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: LED Controllers Sync and Resolume

Post by Zoltán » Sat Mar 18, 2017 15:45

if the led panels could run from the same controller, and you could get to the controller using only one output,
that would probably solve the sync issues.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 639
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: LED Controllers Sync and Resolume

Post by pfelberg » Mon Mar 20, 2017 02:19

ravensc wrote:if the led panels could run from the same controller, and you could get to the controller using only one output,
that would probably solve the sync issues.
That´s pretty much it. I can´t. There must be two.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2805
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: LED Controllers Sync and Resolume

Post by Oaktown » Mon Mar 20, 2017 08:28

Take a look at this post.

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 639
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: LED Controllers Sync and Resolume

Post by pfelberg » Fri Jul 12, 2019 19:35

Okay.
The thing is that I can't use one single led controller because they are limited to 1920 pixels wide.
So, to achieve much wider resolution, while keeping the panel full resolution, I must use up to four different video outputs available in the system. And then, if necessary, four controllers.

On that specific case, I am using a MacBookPro and two video outputs. Each output is connected to a led controller which should display one single wide image. And.. there's no Sync.

Following the other thread, I did try the delay option available in Advanced Output which seemed to be great option, but it didn't work.

The weird thing is that sometimes just entering Advanced Output fixes the issue and everything seems on sync. If I close it, there goes off sync once again. I left the Advanced Output panel open but minimized, trying to keep sync, but after a couple of minutes the sync went off again.

Controllers are the same brand and are configured the same. Cabling is good, etc.
Still, no sync.

Paulo

Online
Empyfree
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 23:36

Re: LED Controllers Sync and Resolume

Post by Empyfree » Fri Jul 12, 2019 22:10

You need to try an output expander. My favourite is the Datapath FX4. One 4K input from computer. Split to four perfectly synced HD outputs.

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: LED Controllers Sync and Resolume

Post by cosmowe » Sun Jul 14, 2019 13:01

Hi Paulo,
normally notebook, PC or server video outputs are not framesynced to each other even when they are feeded by one single graficcard. There are graficcards out there wich do support pluggin in a wire from an external sync card.....but this setup is not very cheap. I would also recommend the FX4 setup. Or even cheaper....a matrox dualhead2go setup.

Best wishes
Cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 639
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: LED Controllers Sync and Resolume

Post by pfelberg » Mon Jul 15, 2019 12:35

cosmowe wrote:
Sun Jul 14, 2019 13:01
...... I would also recommend the FX4 setup. Or even cheaper....a matrox dualhead2go setup.
I had a tripple head once. In my understanding this solution will not allow me to use the full resolution potential, since I will be using one single vídeo output and not four.

Paulo

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1271
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: LED Controllers Sync and Resolume

Post by cosmowe » Mon Jul 15, 2019 13:36

Matrox and the fx4 emulates one display and split the content you send to ..to multiple outputs. These multiple outputs are framesync to each other...because they are feeded from only one video out from your computer. Thats the whole trick. If you send one 4k stream to the FX4 you will have 4 seperate fullHD outputs...which you could hardedge onto a led screen. Wasn't that what you are asking for?

Best wishes
Cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

pfelberg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 639
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 04:49
Location: Rio de Janeiro . Brazil

Re: LED Controllers Sync and Resolume

Post by pfelberg » Mon Jul 15, 2019 15:03

cosmowe wrote:
Mon Jul 15, 2019 13:36
Wasn't that what you are asking for?
Yes, and that's a solution for the main issue. Agreed.
I thought it wouldn't work because I believed I couldn't have one single 4K output from that system.
Still, those guys are still wondering not to use any other external hardware besides the sender processors.
Their complaint is that since a system has four available outputs, they should be in sync by design no matter what".

So, now I understand they can achieve a desired result, yet they don't agree with the concept of it.

Thank you, buddy.

Paulo

Post Reply