NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Bro, does your rig even lift?
User avatar
massta
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 08:29
Location: Cambridge, MA

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Post by massta »

Correct, mesh warping is for slices. If you look at my image of the Datapath vs Individual GPU Outputs, the Advanced Output of the Datapath has connecting boundaries because Resolume thinks its one display. If you slice and warp each of the quadrants, you can not pull your mesh across these boarders because the video will bleed into undesirable quadrants. This can't happen in the Individual GPU Outputs. I suppose you would have to add a mask if this happens.

elgarf
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 05:52

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Post by elgarf »

I've never had problems with keeping slices into datapath quadrant boundaries.
If slice is out of boundary then you're doing something wrong, but even in this case you can just add mask.

User avatar
massta
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 08:29
Location: Cambridge, MA

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Post by massta »

That sounds like a solution then. I'll have to give it another go since I have an Fx4 here. Thanks for the advice.

User avatar
massta
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 08:29
Location: Cambridge, MA

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Post by massta »

About to finally give this ago go tonight.

I'm still not sure masking will solve this issue because the masks would need to be only acting on individual slices and not the slices stacked below it.

User avatar
massta
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 08:29
Location: Cambridge, MA

Re: NVIDIA NVS 810 for new system

Post by massta »

So I was correct. When trying to use every last pixel of a Datapath FX4, you are limited by the internal boundaries of the quad zones. If you are video mapping and stretch over into this area, you will need to be careful of the other slices/quadrants.

I believe the way out of this is to scale the image down so it stays within its quadrant after editing points for mapping. But then you need to scale the image at the projector using the zoom. Doing this you lose pixel density.
Attachments
datapath_01_Capture.PNG

Post Reply