MIDI cutting off mid performance

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

MIDI cutting off mid performance

Post by mowgli »

Yesterday I had a problem that I've not had before. Shortly after starting my audiovisual performance all MIDI was lost and Resolume's clock got stuck on 500BPM. I tried refreshing MIDI in preferences and plugging and unplugging my controller (trigger finger) while still trying to carry on playing my audio. The controller was getting power from my laptop but Resolume wasn't recognising anything. As these things happen, I'm unable to recreate the issue afterwards.
Any ideas or suggestions as to what happened and how to fix it without a restart? It was a horrible experience being in the middle of my performance trying to fix this while carrying on playing.
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

Online
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4575
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: MIDI cutting off mid performance

Post by Zoltán »

Did you only have this one device plugged in to your machine?
Cables and connector all good?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

Re: MIDI cutting off mid performance

Post by mowgli »

The trigger finger was the only MIDI controller but I had MIDI clock coming from a Korg SQ1.
All cables are good and are working fine afterwards.
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

Re: MIDI cutting off mid performance

Post by mowgli »

I'm now having problems using a Beatstep Pro. I just saw the MIDI clock in Resolume jump from 80 to 500 to then settle on 20 BPM. The BPM coming fro the beatstep was 94. I'm certain that the problem lies with Resolume as I use all of the hardware mentioned on the thread with Ableton and I don't have any problems. This issue is a pretty big deal when you rely on resolume for live performance.
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

Online
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4575
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: MIDI cutting off mid performance

Post by Zoltán »

Yes, the midi clock getting stuck at 20 or 500 is a weird one.
We're working on it.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

Re: MIDI cutting off mid performance

Post by mowgli »

cool. Thanks!
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

Re: MIDI cutting off mid performance

Post by mowgli »

I'm having ongoing problems with MIDI. The settings are changing on their own mid-performance. My devices are being switched off in the preferences!
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

Online
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4575
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: MIDI cutting off mid performance

Post by Zoltán »

Do you maybe have duplicate shortcuts, or incoming OSC, or DMX?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
mowgli
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: London

Re: MIDI cutting off mid performance

Post by mowgli »

I'm afraid not. No OSC or DMX.
Interestingly this seems to only happen when I'm in the middle of a performance, never when preparing stuff. Very frustrating!
Collapsing wave functions
http://www.mowgli.tv

Online
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4575
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: MIDI cutting off mid performance

Post by Zoltán »

Do the devices get enough power?
Cables all ok?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply