Clips moving to wrong layer

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
jrxc
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 16:12

Clips moving to wrong layer

Post by jrxc » Sat Feb 08, 2020 16:20

Hi everyone. I'm using the latest version of Arena. When I switch decks, create a layer, then switch back to the first deck, my clips have shifted to the wrong layer. I made a video showing this. Any ideas?

phpBB [video]

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4097
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Clips moving to wrong layer

Post by Zoltán » Mon Feb 10, 2020 16:41

Your clips in Deck 1 are still in layer 1, and 2 ;) but I see how you could expect these to move with the layers.

Layers are quite independent from the decks.
Decks are just a collection of your clips in rows and columns.
Creating a new layer will only affect the clip layout of your current deck, other deck clips are not affected.
I think this is the behavior you see.

Keeping the decks independent from layers allows you to load decks from other compositions into your current composition. Unfortunately, this comes with the downside of layer changes only affecting the current deck.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

jrxc
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 16:12

Re: Clips moving to wrong layer

Post by jrxc » Mon Feb 10, 2020 16:52

If decks are truly independent, then creating a layer in Deck 2 shouldn’t create a layer at all in Deck 1. Although the main problem is that it is creating a layer in Deck 1 in a different spot than in Deck 2.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4097
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Clips moving to wrong layer

Post by Zoltán » Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:37

Layers are part of your composition,
When you create a new layer and load a deck that has fewer rows of clips, the upper layers will be filled with empty clip slots.
Then you can move your clips to these empty layers if you want.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

jrxc
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 16:12

Re: Clips moving to wrong layer

Post by jrxc » Wed Feb 12, 2020 15:26

Yeah that’s the problem. If I have a lot of clips then I have to move every clip every time I create a layer. Seems like that issue should be fixed. If I create a layer in Deck 2 in position 2 (2nd from the top), then a layer should be created in Deck 1 in position 2 (2nd from the top), NOT in position 1 (top).

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4097
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Clips moving to wrong layer

Post by Zoltán » Tue Feb 18, 2020 11:42

As I tried to explain, this is not something that is broken.

If we'd follow layer creation and move in inactive decks, would you also expect following layer removals?
So you'd create a new layer in deck 1, move layer to bottom, and remove top layer.
This would then also remove the top layer's clips in deck 2?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone
Posts: 5182
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: Clips moving to wrong layer

Post by Joris » Tue Feb 18, 2020 12:29

This is not such a crazy thing to expect.

Let's say I have layer 2 set to mask mode, and a couple of decks with differently themed content. In every deck, the content in layer 2 is then specifically selected by me to be used for masking.

If I then decide that the masking is too much for this show, I can logically expect that removing layer 2, removes all the masking content in every deck. I don't need masking, so why would I still need the masking content?

You say decks and layers are seperate, but because of the Own Layer target, content can become linked to the layer it is in. It is very common to organise content with the same 'purpose' to be triggered into the same layer, which is set up to fit that purpose. And this carries over across decks. Masking even goes so far to change the view of the content in a masked layer.

I understand that you're not touching decks that aren't visible to prevent people losing content, especially because it happens without them actually seeing what has happened. And it's probably the safer choice. But what jrxc is saying is not crazy and I can understand why he thinks it's broken.

jrxc
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 16:12

Re: Clips moving to wrong layer

Post by jrxc » Tue Feb 18, 2020 13:25

Maybe it can be an option in the settings? Select between two different behaviors.

Post Reply