2 chroma key simultaneously

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Post Reply
User avatar
vjastral
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 16:40

2 chroma key simultaneously

Post by vjastral »

Greetings!

We do love Resolume and its flexibility, but at the moment I am struggling with chroma key setup. We have 2 objects for visual effects. One is the green background and the other is an actor with a blue costume. Effects must be separate. For example, 1 video clip is in the background and another clip is filling the costume. I know it's easy for someone but I can't figure out the needed result, as a fact I have all kinds of effects but the one I need I can't get really. The closest I could see is and transparent background but it's not actually on the back the clip is just transparent. I have tried to mask the images, chroma keys on clips, layers, and composition, but could get the result ( All I see is that I can use only 1 chromakey and once. How to achieve different clips with different background chroma and foreground? Please help.

Thanks in advance!

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5328
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 2 chroma key simultaneously

Post by Zoltán »

Could you upload a sample of your image you'd like to filter?

Also, you'd like to place a video over the dress, and another over the background?

Like this?
Attachments
Képernyőfotó 2021-07-26 - 13.31.39.png
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
vjastral
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 16:40

Re: 2 chroma key simultaneously

Post by vjastral »

Thanks for finding time to replying to this post, Zoltán. It seems that your picture fits my issue :roll:

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5328
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 2 chroma key simultaneously

Post by Zoltán »

Cool, so what I did is just a regular chroma key on the layer 2 clip,
and then another one on layer 4, to get the background out,
brightness contrast to make the image black,
Invert RGB to make it transparent + white,
another Chroma key to remove Alpha.
Then invert RGB again to flip black with white.
And use layer 4 to mask one below.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
vjastral
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 16:40

Re: 2 chroma key simultaneously

Post by vjastral »

Thanks, very much, but somehow it didn't work on my side. I have attached photos. What is the point I am missing :shock: :?: Much thanks in advance 🙏
Attachments
Снимок экрана 2021-07-28 в 1.46.57.png
Снимок экрана 2021-07-28 в 1.46.39.png
Снимок экрана 2021-07-28 в 1.46.28.png

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5328
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 2 chroma key simultaneously

Post by Zoltán »

The effect stack should be on the clip in the masking layer.
The masking layer should be the top layer.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
vjastral
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 16:40

Re: 2 chroma key simultaneously

Post by vjastral »

Ok, thanks, I found that mask function Layer -> Mask mode and made the first clip masked as on your screenshot, but I guess that somehow I don't have composition+clip+layer stack as on your screenshot and I don't know why :? Also, there is a white background as you can see... :(
Attachments
Снимок экрана 2021-07-28 в 11.30.02.png
Снимок экрана 2021-07-28 в 11.29.48.png

User avatar
vjastral
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 16:40

Re: 2 chroma key simultaneously

Post by vjastral »

Finally, I achieved the result I needed thank you very much for this! :roll: My last question is about your screenshot, you do have composition+clip+layer... I made a green star on me to mention.. how did you make this and what are the advantages. Wish you all the best! :geek:
Attachments
Снимок экрана 2021-07-28 в 22.42.20.png

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5328
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 2 chroma key simultaneously

Post by Zoltán »

Nice!

You can rearrange these panels by dragging on their name.
Then if you like a layout, you can save it in the View menu - Layout.
You can also disable and enable panels in View.

BTW, if you're using a green screen already, and want to mask the person completely, I don't think the person needs to dress up in blue necessarily. You should be able to separate the person with a combination of some effects, like the levels, invertRGB, and then colorize it, to then chroma key.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

User avatar
vjastral
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2021 16:40

Re: 2 chroma key simultaneously

Post by vjastral »

Thank you very much. Wish you all the best!

Post Reply